Omega Psi Phi

The charter line of Wofford's chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc, “The Thoroughly Emerged Eight”, entered the fraternity on December 7, 1972. Omega brothers Phillip Fant, Rudolph Long, John Douglas, Joseph Grant, Leonard Rowe, John White, and Chauncey Searles began a legacy of manhood, scholarship, perseverance and uplift as the first predominantly African American Greek Fraternity and African American Greek organization on Wofford College's campus. The Tau Delta Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc was chartered just one year later in 1973.


The chapter does not currently have any members, though the charter remains active. If you are interested in learning more about the Tau Delta Chapter, please reach out to Dean Ashley Owen and the chapter's primary advisor Dr. William Ross

Tau Delta Chapter Alumni Profiles

Rudy Long '73

Willie Stevens '75

Charles Robinson '78

Rodney Anderson '79

Eddie Singleton '79

Michael Turner '80

Columbus Hood '80

Wallace Keese '80

Ron Gibson '80

Reginald Bostick '88

Donovan Johnson '14

Longinus Nnodim '17

About Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. is the first international fraternal organization founded on the campus of a historically black college. On the evening of November 17, 1911, Omega Psi Phi was founded inside the Science Building (later renamed Thirkield Hall) at Howard University located in Washington, D.C. The founders were three undergraduates — Edgar Amos Love, Oscar James Cooper and Frank Coleman. Joining them was their faculty adviser, Ernest Everett Just. From the initials of the Greek phrase meaning, “friendship is essential to the soul," the name Omega Psi Phi was derived. That phrase was selected as the motto.

On November 23, 1911, Edgar A. Love became the first Grand Basileus (National President). Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman were selected to be the Grand Keeper of the Records (National Secretary) and Grand Keeper of Seals (National Treasurer), respectively. Eleven undergraduate men were selected to become the charter members. In 1912, Howard University officials did not initially recognize the fraternity as a national organization and Omega Psi Phi’s leadership refused to accept limited recognition. As a result, the fraternity operated without official sanction, until the university withdrew its opposition in 1914, the same year Beta chapter was chartered at Lincoln University.

Omega Psi Phi was incorporated under the laws of the District of Columbia on October 28, 1914. Omega played a vital role when the United States entered World War I in 1917 by having several brothers in the first class of black soldiers graduate from Camp Fort Des Moines, a military training facility located in Iowa. Several Omegas, including Campbell C. Johnson, John Purnell and founders Frank Coleman and Edgar A. Love are among its graduates.

The Atlanta Grand Conclave in 1921 brought an end the fraternity’s first decade. Omega built a strong and effective force of men dedicated to its cardinal principles of manhood, scholarship, perseverance, and uplift.

Learn more at the Omega Psi Phi national website.