Richardson Family Scholarship

Drone shot of campus

Richardson Family Scholarship

Criteria for Selection

  • Applicants must be nominated as a Wofford Scholar by their high school guidance counselors
  • Moral force of character
  • Strong family commitment
  • Instincts to lead
  • Energy and inclination to use one’s talents, as evidenced by participation in sports and/or other active hobbies
  • Scholarly accomplishments
  • Evidence of courage, sense of duty, unselfishness and concern for others

The Richardson Family Scholarship provides a full, four-year scholarship to Wofford College that includes:

  • Full tuition, fees, room and board
  • A monthly stipend for books and miscellaneous expenses
  • A laptop computer for entering first-year students
  • Summer internships, with one involving opportunity for overseas travel
  • A January travel experience

Richardson Family Scholars will participate in a variety of enrichment activities, both on and off campus, to enhance their educational experience. Special opportunities not listed above may include the following:

  • Luncheons with prominent community and campus leaders
  • Dinner with Wofford’s Board of Trustees
  • Resume and career preparation sessions
  • Local community service opportunities
Present Richardson Scholars
Alec Schrader ’24
Fredonia, NY
Hope Moreno ’25
Cowpens, SC
Deuce Miller ’26
Greenville, SC
Grayson Gregg ’27
Mount Pleasant, SC
Past Richardson Scholars
Year Awarded Richardson Scholars
2023 Grayson Gregg
2022 Deuce Miller
2021 Hope Moreno
2020 Alec Schrader
2019 Jackson Barton
2018 Andrew White
2017 Jurnee Jones-Holcombe
2016 Hawkins Shepard
2015 Omar Elmore
2014 Katie Beuerlein
2013 Matt Edwards
2012 Isaiah Addison
2010 Colin Gelbaugh
2009 David Moore
2007 Corey Gelbaugh
2006 Kyle Hayes
2005 Matt Lane
2004 Michael Lance, Jr.
2003 William Ladd Rutherford
2003 Bernadette Marie Sikes
2002 Kathleen Grace Sobczyk
2001 Andre’ Brandon Caldwell
1998 Nancy L. Dubuisson
1997 Jennifer A. Nett
1996 Thomas E. Woods, II
1995 Nichole Perrin Ketchin
1994 Manoj Pariyadath
1993 William Julian Bailey, III
1992 Paul V. White, III
1991 William B. King, Jr.
1990 Cynthia Vinyard Nicholson
1989 J. Andrew Green
1988 David S. Garner