Board of Trustees

Wofford has 31 trustees who serve as the governing body of the college under the terms of the will of the college's founder, the Rev. Benjamin Wofford, and a state charter of 1851. They are elected to staggered four-year terms by the South Carolina Conference of the United Methodist Church. Tenure is limited to 12 consecutive years.

2018-19 Officers of the Board of Trustees

R. Michael James ’73, Charlotte, N.C., chairman
James M. Johnson ’71, Birmingham, Ala., vice-chair
The Hon. Costa M. Pleicones ’65, Columbia, S.C., secretary

2018-19 Members of the Board of Trustees

Ashley Richardson Allen, Charlotte, N.C.
Ronald A. Andrews Jr. '81, Coto de Caza, Calif.
Christopher A. P. Carpenter ’90, Atlanta, Ga.
Justin A. Converse ’96, Spartanburg, S.C.
Jimmy I. Gibbs, Spartanburg, S.C.
D. Christian Goodall ’79, Columbia, S.C.
H. Neel Hipp Jr., Greenville, S.C.
The Rev. John W. Hipp ’75, Florence, S.C.
Laura J. Hoy, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
R. Michael James ’73, Charlotte, N.C.
James M. Johnson ’71, Birmingham, Ala.
Stewart H. Johnson ’67, Spartanburg, S.C.
The Rev. William F. Malambri ’98, Florence, S.C.
Jodie W. McLean, Bethesda, Md.
James C. Meadors ’81, Charleston, S.C.
Craig D. Melvin ’01, New York, N.Y.
Betty J. Montgomery, Campobello, S.C.
Dr. Daniel B. Morrison Jr. ’75, Sullivan's Island, S.C.
Steven W. Mungo ’81, Charleston, S.C.
Wendi M. Nix  ’96, New York, N.Y.
Corry W. Oakes III ’89, Spartanburg, S.C.
L. Leon Patterson ’63, Greenville, S.C.
The Hon. Costa M. Pleicones ’65, Columbia, S.C.
Stanley E. Porter ’89, Chevy Chase, Md.
J. Patrick Prothro ’96, Park City, Utah
J. E. Reeves Jr., Summit, N.J.
Joe E. Taylor Jr. ’80, Columbia, S.C.
Erin M. Watson ’91, Atlanta, Ga.
Bishop William H. Willimon ’68, Durham, N.C.
Joshua S. Whitley ’05, Charleston, S.C.
Joyce Payne Yette ’80, Washington, D.C.