SPARTANBURG, South Carolina – Dozens of Wofford College students were recognized for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship on Friday, May 19, at the college’s annual Honors Convocation held in the Jerry Richardson Indoor Stadium.

President Nayef Samhat named Josh Lipscomb ’24, a philosophy and Spanish double major from Travelers Rest, South Carolina as Wofford’s Presidential International Scholar for the 2023-24 academic year.

Academic departments also recognized their outstanding students, and a variety of other leadership and citizenship awards were presented during the event. Find background on awards.

These are the awards and recipients:

Accounting, The Harold W. Green Award: Tyler Robert Thomas Taylor, Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Art History: Blake Batten, Anderson, South Carolina.

Studio Art: Kate Timbes, Columbia, South Carolina.

Biology, The W. Ray Leonard Award: Tatiyana Adkins, Ladson, South Carolina; and Nathan Faulstich, Lake City, Florida.

Chinese: Valerie Soto, Mountain Top, Pennsylvania.

Computer Science, The Dan W. Olds Award: Juan Garcia, Lyman, South Carolina.

Economics, The Matthew A. Stephenson Award: Gray Whitener, Columbia, South Carolina.

Business Economics: Lexi Reichenbach, Inner Grove, Minnesota.

English, The L. Harris Chewning Award: Joanna Miller, Rock Hill, South Carolina; Kenzie Syiem, Shillong, Meghalaya, India; and Anna Turner, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina.

Environmental Studies, The John Harrington Award: Drew Wilson, Sandersville, Georgia.

Finance, The James Edwin Proctor Award: Jackson Pell, Summerville, South Carolina.

French, The George C.S. Adams Award: Juliana Brooks, Peachtree City, Georgia.

German, The James A. Chiles Award: Grace Levitt, Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Government: Sam Smith, Florence, South Carolina; and Quinn Fleming, Beaufort, South Carolina.

History, The David Duncan Wallace Award: Channing Baker, Marion, North Carolina.

Humanities: Nick Ackard, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina.

International Affairs: Isaiah Franco, Newtown, Pennsylvania.

Mathematics, The John Q. Hill Award: Luke Freudenheim, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina.

Philosophy: Sarah Owens, Charleston, South Carolina.

Psychology, The James E. Seegars Award: Anna Claire Rhyne, Belmont, North Carolina; Gray Whitener, Columbia, South Carolina; and Kathleen Willingham, Fountain Inn, South Carolina.

Religion, The Charles F. Nesbitt Award: Brady Wolfe, Chapin, South Carolina.

Sociology and Anthropology, The Gerry Ginocchio Award: Callie Henline, Statesville, North Carolina.

Spanish, The John L. Salmon Award: Isaiah Franco, Newtown, Pennsylvania; and Netanya Linares, Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Theatre, The James R. Gross Award: Hailie Gold, Simpsonville, South Carolina.

Music, The George A. Carlisle Award: Ellie Fletcher, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina.

The Global Citizen Award: Isaiah Franco, Newtown, Pennsylvania.

The Walter E. Hudgins Award: Yasmin Lee, Columbia, South Carolina; and Kate Timbes, Columbia, South Carolina.

Neuroscience: Tatiyana Adkins, Ladson, South Carolina; Gibson Dowd, Bradley, South Carolina; Brandon Edwards, Maggie Valley, North Carolina; McRae Gage, Charlotte, North Carolina; Ivey Rathbun, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina; and Kathleen Willingham, Fountain Inn, South Carolina.

Wofford Student Diversity & Inclusion Award: Anye Stewart, Columbia, South Carolina.

The John Bruce Memorial Award: Mae Webster, Spartanburg, South Carolina.

The Currie B. Spivey Award: Cayleen Hall, Washington, D.C.

The Henry Freeman Service Award: Gracie Hicks, Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, and Neeley Wilson, Knoxville, Tennessee.

The “Heart of the Terrier” Leadership Awards: Nick Ackard, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina; Anna Brown, Dillon, South Carolina; Paolo Cruz, Charlotte, North Carolina; Isaiah Franco, Newtown, Pennsylvania; Cayleen Hall, Washington, D.C.; Lilly Hatton, Georgetown, Indiana; Rylee Jorgensen, Maryville, Tennessee; Megan Santos, Concord, North Carolina; Sam Smith, Florence, South Carolina; Grace Sorrell, Rougemont, North Carolina; Kenzie Syiem, Shillong, Meghalaya, India; Kimberly Tovar, Johns Island, South Carolina; Brady Wolfe, Chapin, South Carolina.

American Legion: Camp Williams, Greenville, South Carolina; Sarah Owens, Charleston, South Carolina.

The Eric L. Marshall Award: Kerrington Johnson, Anderson, South Carolina.

The Outstanding Citizen: Thomas Cuttino, Columbia, South Carolina.

The William James McLeod Award: Kennedy Smith, Huntersville, North Carolina.

The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award: Jack Stomberger, Danville, Kentucky.

Fraternity Awards

PKP Switzer Award: Jackson Barton, Lexington, North Carolina.

PKA Light Kinney Award: Maxwell “Max” Garrett Creasman, Atlanta, Georgia.

Campus Union Faculty Award: Dr. David Alvis, associate professor of government and international affairs.

Sandra Casey Award (staff): Chief Dwayne Harris, Campus Safety.