SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Dozens of Wofford College’s recent graduates received awards from the college for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship. The college was unable to celebrate these students during the annual Honors Convocation in the spring, but their achievements and contributions to Wofford deserve recognition. Find background on awards.

These are the 2020 award recipients:
Presidential International Scholar - Kendall Alexis Weaver

Academic Awards
Accounting - The Harold W. Green Award - Sydney Marie McHugh
Art History - Lydia Evelyn Estes, MacKenna Marie Smith
Studio Art - Micah Rossiter Tiffin, Kara Elizabeth Porter
Biology: The W. Ray Leonard Award - Catherine Taylor Cronister
Chemistry: The Coleman B. Waller Award - Effie Caroline Kropp
Chinese - Lauren Paige Arnold
Computer Science: The Dan W. Olds Award - Nathan Vikram Patnam
Economics: The Matthew A. Stephenson Award - Blake Michael Jeresaty
Business Economics - Mikala Grace McBride
English: The L. Harris Chewning Award - Meghan Chandler Daniel, Julia Nelson Funderburk
Environmental Studies: The John W. HarringtonAward - Casey Herring Harcourt
Finance: The James Edwin Proctor Award - Kyle Sullivan Blair
French: The George C. S. Adams Award - Mary Claire Kinnas
German - Abigail Young Britton
Government - Mary Stewart Wilson, Elizabeth Vaughan Harrell
History: The David Duncan Wallace Award - Thomas Neville Stack
Humanities - Robyn L. DeAbreu
International Affairs - Thomas Neville Stack, Kendall Alexis Weaver
Mathematics: The John Q. Hill Award - Catherine Taylor Cronister
Philosophy - Jacob C. Haun
Physics - Turner Elizabeth Bryant
Psychology: The James E. Seegars Award - Megan Caroline Dempsey, Leila Carmen Shearer
Religion: The Charles F. Nesbitt Award - Elizabeth Marie Leatherman
Sociology and Anthropology: The Gerry Ginocchio Award - Kaycia Jewel Best, Rebecca Ireland McGaughey
Spanish: The John L. Salmon Award - Laurel Anne Lee
Theatre: The James R. Gross Award - Marianthi Catherine Thalassinos
The George A. Carlisle Award - Kendall Beth Otto
The Peter Allen Moore Award for Strings - Kalvin Lynn Guyer
The Global Citizen Award - Nneka Chika Mogbo
Entrepreneur of the Year Award - Ella Ruth Patrick
The Walter E. Hudgins Award - Khalil Amar Gamble

Senior Order of Gnomes - John Patterson Crawford, Elizabeth Grace Hollingsworth, Margaret Wells Osteen, John M. “Jack” Sullivan
The Wofford Student Diversity and Inclusion Award - Nneka Chika Mogbo
The Wofford Faculty/Staff Diversity and Inclusion Award - Kimberly A. Rostan
The John Bruce Memorial Award - Nneka Chika Mogbo, Mariana Ozelle Carreno
The Currie B. Spivey Award - Kaycia Jewel Best
The “Heart of A Terrier” Leadership Awards - Bali Kaur Channa, Austin Alexander D’Addario, Megan Caroline Dempsey, Thomas Jackson Dextraze, Julia Nelson Funderburk, Mary Baxter Harlow, Luke Colin Turner Lovell, Fredy Omar Madrid Marquez Jr., William Blake Morgan, Vera Leann Candia Oberg, Carrie Fran Ruff, Curneisha Necole Williams, Leah Camastra Wilson
The American Legion Award - Lydia Evelyn Estes, Alec Daniel Konrad
The Eric L. Marshall Award - Bradford Langston Smith
The Outstanding Citizen Award - Kalvin Lynn Guyer
The William James McLeod Award
- Joshua Marion Adams
The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award - Zainab Khuzem Bhagat

PKP Switzer Award - Owen Augustus Collars
PKA Light Kinney Award - Conner Bradford Funderburk
KA Cauthen Award - John M. “Jack” Sullivan

Awards traditionally presented at Commencement
The Honor Graduate(s) - Leila Shearer, Sydney McHugh
The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award - Ethan Patrick Covil
The Mary Mildred Sullivan Award - Elizabeth Grace Hollingsworth

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society. Wofford’s chapter was chartered in 1941 and was the first to be sheltered at an independent college in South Carolina.

Hayley Helen Younginer

Joshua Marion Adams
Abigail Claire Albritton
Zainab Khuzem Bhagat
Turner Elizabeth Bryant
William Nicholas Butler
Mariana Ozelle Carreno
Owen Augustus Collars
Chandler Pope Compton
Catherine Taylor Cronister
Megan Caroline Dempsey
Lydia Evelyn Estes
Khalil Amar Gamble
Elizabeth Vaughan Harrell
David Waters Hickman
Eli Aaron Horner
Blake Michael Jeresaty
Emily Gyles Laney
Elizabeth Marie Leatherman
Anna Christian Lyles
Mikala Grace McBride
Sydney Marie McHugh
Fatima Abbas Mohammed
Kassidy Laurel Morton
Kendall Beth Otto
Samuel Victor Padula
Ruhi Pranay Patel
Nathan V. Patnam
Liesel Noelle Rutland
Leila Carmen Shearer
Hawkins Stilwell Shepard
Thomas Neville Stack
Robert William Stout
John Michael Matthews Sullivan
Maite Mishel Velazquez-Hernandez
Kendall Alexis Weaver
Caroline Grace Wilson
Leah Camastra Wilson

President - Curneisha Williams
Vice President - Alec Konrad
Secretary - Braden Tuttle
Treasurer - Connor Kreese