SPARTANBURG, S.C. — The 2020-2021 academic year began with a virtual pre-session for faculty and staff. This limited the usual applause to celebrate promotions and opportunities to meet and welcome new colleagues in-person. While traditional activities are on hold because of COVID-19, the campus community is encouraged to congratulate colleagues and find creative ways to make new faculty feel welcome.

The college has made eight faculty newly tenured:

Timothy Bersak (Economics)
Dr. Lori Cruze (Biology)
Dr. Zachary Davis (Chemistry)
Dr. Aaron Garrett (Computer Science)
Dr. Kimberly Hall (English and Media Studies)
Dr. Carolyn Martsberger (Physics)
Dr. Geoffrey Mitchell (Biology)
Dr. Patrick Whitfill (English and Creative Writing)

Three faculty members were promoted to associate professor:

Benjamin Cartwright (Accounting)
Dr. Phillip Dorroll (Religion)
Diane Farley (Accounting)

One faculty member was promoted to full professor:

Dr. Camille Bethea (Spanish, Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures)