Diversity and inclusion issues have experienced a number of milestones at Wofford College through the years. Here is a list of major accomplishments.

1901-1904 – Eight women graduated from Wofford; two in each class.

1905 – Japanese student, Buichi Muraoka, enrolled at Wofford.

1964 – Wofford became one of the first private colleges in the South to desegregate voluntarily. Albert Gray '71 enrolled in the fall semester 1964.

1969 – Doug Jones '69 was the first African-American to graduate from Wofford.

Late 1960s and 70s – Otis Turner, Wofford’s first African-American faculty member, was hired.

1970s – The Association of African American Students (AAAS) and the Gospel Choir were formed to meet the cultural needs of black students.

1973 – Janice B. Means '73 was the first African-American female to graduate from Wofford.

1975 – Wofford began admitting women as resident students.

1979 – Xi Iota City-wide Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was chartered by 10 young women affiliated with Wofford, Converse College, the University of South Carolina Upstate (then USC Spartanburg) and Limestone College.

1980 – Joyce Payne Yette was the first Wofford female alumna to become a member of the Wofford College Board of Trustees.

1988-89 – Stanley Porter '89 was the first African-American student elected as president of the student body.

August 2000 – Wofford creates the Office of Multicultural Affairs with a director of multicultural affairs position.

September 2004 – The Association of African American Students (AAAS) changed its name to the Association of Multicultural Students.

Fall 2014 – Office of Multicultural Affairs changes its name to the Office of Diversity and Inclusion; the Black Alumni Association is formed.

Fall 2016 – The Meadors Multicultural House is dedicated in the Stewart H. Johnson Greek Village