Thoroughman - Wright

Faculty Gallery

Thomas Vernon Thoroughman

Dr. Thomas Vernon Thoroughman
Professor of History

Dr. Thoroughman received a B.A. and an M.A. from Emory University and a Ph.D. at the University of North Carolina. Before coming to Wofford, he taught at North Carolina Wesleyan College, and served three years in the Navy. He joined the faculty in 1967 and served the college until his retirement in 2000. During his tenure he was designated as an academic associate to The Atlantic Council of the United States and was Wofford’s first representative to the Wye Seminar.

Arcadius McSwain Trawick

Professor Arcadius McSwain Trawick
Professor of Religion

Dr. Trawick earned an A.B. and B.D. from Vanderbilt University. Professor Trawick joined the faculty in 1921 and retired in 1947 under the age limit rule. During his tenure he established the department of religion, was chairman of that department, and founded the annual “Period of Religious Emphasis Week.” After his retirement he taught at Spartanburg Methodist College from 1947 until his death in 1958.

David Hampton Tyner

Dr. David Hampton Tyner
Associate Professor of Government

Dr. Tyner received a B.A. from Wofford College in1976 and an M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina. Dr. Tyner joined the faculty in 1986 and remained in the service of the college until 1999. During his tenure he served as chairman of the government department.

Benjamin Franklin Varn

Dr. Benjamin Franklin Varn, Jr.
Professor of Computer Science

Dr. Varn received a B.A. from The Citadel, an M.S. from Texas A&M University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Florida. He joined the faculty in 1985 and retired in 2000. During his tenure he also was the tennis coach for the college and prepared a history of Wofford's tennis team

David Duncan Wallace

Dr. David Duncan Wallace
Professor of History and Economics

Dr. Wallace received an A.B. from Wofford in 1894 and was the first person to receive a Ph.D. in history from Vanderbilt University in 1899. Before joining the Wofford faculty, he taught history, mathematics, and English at the Carlisle Fitting School in Bamberg, South Carolina. Dr. Wallace joined the faculty in 1899 and served until his retirement under the age limit rule in 1947. During his tenure he was the first chairman of the history department. Dr. Wallace was a prolific writer and eminent historian, and is best known for his four volume History of South Carolina, published in 1934. Dr. Wallace also wrote numerous other articles, speeches and books, including the History of Wofford College, 1854-1949, Civil Government of the United States, South Carolina: A Short History, 1520-1948, and Civil Government of South Carolina. Dr. Wallace was one of the five faculty members who received Wofford's Phi Beta Kappa Chapter and a recipient of honorary degrees from the University of South Carolina and Presbyterian College. After his retirement from Wofford, Dr. Wallace taught at Emory University and the College of Charleston until his death in 1951.

Coleman B. Waller

Dr. Coleman B. Waller
Professor of Chemistry and Biology

Dr. Waller received an A.B. an M.A from Wofford College in 1892 and a Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University in 1903. Before joining the faculty, he taught at Vanderbilt, Clemson University, and had completed special studies in biology at John’s Hopkins University. Dr. Waller joined the faculty in 1903 and served the college until his retirement in 1947. During his tenure he served on the city council of Spartanburg and was assigned to the Health Department by the council, he served as a member of the City Board of Health, and was a consultant to the Spartanburg Water Works in chemistry and bacteriology. After his retirement from Wofford he taught at Spartanburg Junior College until 1957. Dr. Waller died in 1958.

Susan May Wiley

Dr. Susan May Wiley
Professor of Accounting

Dr. Wiley received a B.A. and an M.B.A. from the University of Michigan and was a C.P.A. and C.M.A. Dr. Wiley joined the faculty in 1986 and served until her retirement in 2000. Before joining the faculty she taught at Defiance College and earned the Beyer Gold Medal after completing the C.M.A. exam.

William Woodrow Wright

Dr. William Woodrow Wright, Jr.
T. B. Stackhouse Professor of Economics and Business Administration

Dr. Wilson received a B.B.A. and an M.A. from the University of Georgia and a Ph.D. from the University of Alabama. Dr. Wright joined the faculty in 1959 and served until 1969. During his tenure he served as the T.B. Stackhouse Professor and Chairman of the Economics Department. After leaving Wofford, Dr. Wright became president of Macon Junior College.