SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Dozens of Wofford College students were recognized for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship Friday, May 14, at the college’s annual Honors Convocation held in the Jerry Richardson Indoor Stadium.

President Nayef Samhat named Hector Ortiz ’22, a triple major from Saluda, South Carolina, studying biology, philosophy and Spanish, as Wofford’s 38th Presidential International Scholar.

Academic departments also recognized their outstanding students, and a variety of other leadership and citizenship awards were presented during the event. Find background on awards.

These are the honors and recipients:

Accounting: The Harold W. Green Award – Riley Anne Coonan, Jacksonville, Fla.
Art History – Erin Mary Mancini, Knoxville, Tenn.
Studio Art – Lauren Elizabeth Adams, Mount Pleasant, S.C.
Biology: The W. Ray Leonard Award – Andrew Pressley Miller, Gaffney, S.C., and Price Madison Rainwater, Florence, S.C.
Chemistry: The Coleman B. Waller Award – Caroline Taylor Sargent, Easley, S.C.
Chinese – Grace Elle Prest, Glade Valley, N.C.
Computer Science: The Dan W. Olds Award – Zifan Gu, Moore, S.C.
Economics: The Matthew A. Stephenson Award – Laura Beth Futrell, Denton, N.C.
Business Economics – Emma Harmon McDaniel, Spartanburg, S.C.
English: The L. Harris Chewning Award – Eyon Khristofer Brown, Columbia, S.C.
Environmental Studies: The John Harrington Award – Lawson Wolfe Giles, West Columbia, S.C.
Finance: The James Edwin Proctor Award – Margaret Grace Adcock, Vestavia, Ala.
French – Trinity Joy Chapman, Spartanburg, S.C., Nathaniel Thomas McMaster, Weems, Va., and Emma Grace Stevenson, Frankfort, Ky.
German – Peyton Ruth Pratt, Columbia, S.C.
Government – Peyton Ruth Pratt, Columbia, S.C., and Elizabeth Grace Ward, Pickens, S.C.
International Affairs – Uige Ujaan, Spartanburg, S.C.
History: The David Duncan Wallace Award – Hugo Francis Stack, Richmond, Va., and Nora Elizabeth Grace Williams, Johnson City, Tenn.
Humanities – Cameron Belle Condra, Columbia, S.C.
Mathematics: The John Q. Hill Award – Emily Elizabeth Ezekiel, Warrenville, S.C., and Caroline Taylor Sargent, Easley, S.C.
Philosophy – Allen Chaplin Hughes, Mount Pleasant, S.C., and Broderick Marcus Reid, Georgetown, S.C.
Physics – Wilson Alexander Oswald, Summerville, S.C.
Psychology: The James E. Seegars Award – Margaret Ann Roach, Concord, N.C.
Religion: The Charles F. Nesbitt Award – Elizabeth Maree Hendrix, Gastonia, N.C.
Sociology and Anthropology: The Gerry Ginocchio Award – Ivan Nefi Aguilar Aguilar, Elkin, N.C., and Hana Bayrakdar Barazi, Hendersonville, N.C.
Spanish: The John L. Salmon Award – Mayra Lizeth Lomeli-Garcia, North Charleston, S.C.
Theatre: The James R. Gross Award – Audrey Elise Vail, Blythewood, S.C.
Music: The George A. Carlisle Award – Patrick Taylor Thornton, Birmingham, Ala.

Entrepreneur of the Year Award – Jeremiah David Powers, Spartanburg, S.C.
The Global Citizen Award – Jordan Marie Holmes, Conyers, Ga.
The Walter E. Hudgins Award – Raven Shaleese Tucker, Ridgeway, S.C.

Wofford Student Diversity and Inclusion Award – Margaret Ann Roach, Concord, N.C.
The John Bruce Memorial Award – Brandy Ja’stella Barnes, Jackson, Miss.
The Currie B. Spivey Award – Channing Diaquonn Houser, Woodruff, S.C.
The Henry Freeman Service Award – Jonathan Jalen Carter, Clinton, S.C.

The “Heart of the Terrier” Leadership Awards – Mary Helen Garrett, Wake Forest, N.C., Frederick William Haltiwanger, Rockingham, N.C., Rachael Elizabeth Karriker, Gaffney, S.C., Nathaniel Thomas McMaster, Weems, Va., Matthew Lawrence Newton, Santee, S.C., Price Madison Rainwater, Florence, S.C., Broderick Marcus Reid, Georgetown, S.C., Andrew James Reynolds, Sumter, S.C., Isabella Lora Riddle, West Columbia, S.C., Caroline Taylor Sargent, Easley, S.C. , Hugo Francis Stack, Richmond, Va., and Uige Ujaan, Hilton Head, S.C.

The American Legion Award – Brandy Ja’stella Barnes, Jackson, Miss., and Jonathan Jalen Carter, Clinton, S.C.
The Eric L. Marshall Award – Eyon Khristofer Brown, Columbia, S.C.
The Outstanding Citizen Award – Jurnee Amorae Jones-Holcombe, Woodruff, S.C.
The William James McLeod Award – Tyrus Xavier Peoples, Lexington, S.C.
The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award – Anna Grace Ellett, Spartanburg, S.C., and Megan Mitchell Leonard, Charlotte, N.C.

Campus Union Faculty Award: Dr. Patrick Whitfill, assistant professor of English

Campus Union Staff Award: Matthew Hammett, assistant dean of students for student involvement