Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Professor, author to receive honors

Cox, Betsy (382x255)

Professor, author to be inducted into Fellowship of Southern Writers, receive Robert Penn Warren Award
SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Wofford College professor and acclaimed author Dr. Elizabeth B. (Betsy) Cox will be inducted into the Fellowship of Southern Writers in April 2011, and she will be awarded the Robert Penn Warren Award for her body of work.

Cox, who shares the John C. Cobb Chair in the Humanities with her husband, Michael Curtis, is a poet, short story writer, essayist and novelist. Her books include “The Slow Moon,” “Night Walk,” “The Ragged Way People Fall Out of Love,” “Familiar Ground,” and the story collection “Bargains in the Real World.”

Also being inducted in April will be Harper Lee, author of “To Kill a Mockingbird.”

The Fellowship of Southern Writers, founded in 1987 by a group of writers who met in Chattanooga, is a nonprofit organization that has for its objective the encouragement of literature in the South. Members include Shelby Foote, Flannery O’Connor, Robert Penn Warren, Eudora Welty, James Dickey, Fred Chappell, Cleanth Brooks, C. Vann Woodward, Ernest Gaines, Reynolds Price, Walker Percy, Ralph Ellison, Wendell Berry, and other Southern literati.

MEDIA: For a high-resolution (300 dpi) photo, click on the thumbnail below, then right-click and save to your computer. If you have problems, please contact Laura Corbin.