Home > Newsroom

Cultural, arts and special events calendar (3/24/06)

Friday, March 24, 2006

Continuing through Wednesday, March 29
Exhibit: Drawings by Wofford students
Sandor Teszler Library
Hours: Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-midnight; Friday, 8 a.m.-7 p.m.; Saturday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sunday, 1 p.m.-midnight

Continuing through Thursday, March 30
Exhibit: Paintings by Dorothy Chapman Josey
Martha Cloud Chapman Gallery
Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-9 p.m.; Saturday, noon-6 p.m.; Sunday, noon-9 p.m.

Continuing through Thursday, April 6
Exhibit: Ceramics by Sarah Owens
Sandor Teszler Library Gallery
Hours: Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-midnight; Friday, 8 a.m.-7 p.m.; Saturday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sunday, 1 p.m.-midnight

Daily through Thursday, April 27
Tickets on sale for Edwin McCain Band Concert (April 27)
General admission, $20. Call 597-4040.

Monday, March 27
3 p.m.
Philosophy Panel on Race
McMillan Theater

Monday, March 27
6 p.m.
2nd Annual Faculty/Staff vs. Senior Terriers Football Game Fundraiser for Bethlehem Center
Gibbs Stadium

Tuesday, March 28
11 a.m.
ACM Student Chapter, Speaker Myron Ginsberg: “High Performance Computing”
Room 213, Franklin W. Olin Building

Tuesday March 28
3:30 p.m.
Gender Studies Conference & Dinner
Montgomery Room

Wednesday, March 29
4 p.m.
Presidential Seminar Presentation of “Antigone”
Steps of Main Building

Thursday, March 30
7 p.m.
Lecture: Sarah Owens, ceramics artist
Sandor Teszler Library Conference Room

Monday, April 3, through Friday, April 7
Spring Holidays
Campus Offices Open

Monday, April 10, through Friday, May 19
Exhibit: Photographs by student Austin Baker
Martha Cloud Chapman Gallery
Hours: Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-9 p.m.; Saturday, noon-6 p.m.; Sunday, noon-9 p.m.

Monday, April 10, through Friday, May 26
Exhibit: Photographs by John Daido Loori
Sandor Teszler Library Gallery
Hours: Monday-Thursday, 8 a.m.-midnight; Friday, 8 a.m.-7 p.m.; Saturday, 10 a.m.-5 p.m.; Sunday, 1 p.m.-midnight

Tuesday, April 11
4 p.m.
Speaker: Dr. Victor Hanson, “War: Ancient and Modern”
Olin Teaching Theater

Wednesday, April 12
3:30 & 7:30 p.m.
World Film Series: “The Women of Rosenstrasse”
Olin Teaching Theater

Wednesday, April 12
7 p.m.
Troubadour Series: Marcos Diaz
Papadopoulos Building

Thursday, April 13
7:30 p.m.
Wofford Theatre: African-American Playwrights Series
Tony White Theater, Campus Life Building

Monday, April 17
4 p.m.
Woodrow Wilson Visiting Lecturer: Ramon Daubon, "Citizenship, New Democracies, and the United States"
Olin Teaching Theater

Tuesday, April 18
11 a.m.
Catastrophic Worry & the Pain Experience
Room 201E, Roger Milliken Science Center

Tuesday, April 18
8 p.m.
Speaker: Professor Christopher Johns (Vanderbilt University), “Spectacle and Splendor: The Papacy and the Arts in 18th Century Rome”
Olin Teaching Theater

Wednesday, April 19
3:30 p.m.
Faculty Talk: Peter Schmunk & G.R. Davis, “Roma Amor: Two Photographic Views of the Eternal City”
Montgomery Room, Burwell Building

Wednesday, April 19
5-7 p.m.
Kappa Alpha Theta Annual Pig Pickin’ BBQ Fundraiser
Lawn of Main Building

Thursday, April 20
11 a.m.
Sandor Teszler Moral Courage and Service to Humankind Award Convocation. Speaker, Marian Wright Edelman, founder/CEO, Children’s Defense Fund
Leonard Auditorium, Main Building

Thursday, April 20
7:30 p.m.
Wofford Theatre: African-American Playwrights Series
Tony White Theater, Campus Life Building

Tuesday, April 25
11 a.m.
Phi Beta Kappa Convocation. Speaker, John Eaton, international composer, performer of electronic/microtonal music
Verandah Room, Richardson Physical Activities Building

Tuesday, April 25
4 p.m.
Phi Beta Kappa Induction
Papadopoulos Building

Wednesday, April 26
3:30 & 7:30 p.m.
World Film Series: “The Edukators”
Olin Teaching Theater, Franklin W. Olin Building

Nightly Wednesday, April 26, through Saturday, April 29
And Nightly Wednesday, May 3, through Saturday, May 6
8 p.m.
Wofford Theatre: A New Children’s Play
Tony White Theater, Campus Life Building
Tickets: $5/students, $10/adults
Reservations: (864) 597-4080

Thursday, April 27
7 p.m.
Lecture: Photographer John Daido Loori
Olin Teaching Theater, Franklin W. Olin Building

Thursday, April 27
8 p.m. (doors open at 7 p.m.)
Wofford Activities Council Presents: Edwin McCain Band
Wofford Intramural Field
Tickets: $20 for general public/general admission

Friday, April 28
2 p.m.
Wofford Chamber Players Concert
Anna Todd Wofford Center, Andrews Field House

Friday, April 28
6 p.m.
ROTC Awards Banquet
Montgomery Room, Burwell Building

Sunday, April 30
Tri Delta Triple Play Softball Tournament Fundraiser for St. Jude’s Hospital
Intramural Field

Thursday, May 4
11 a.m.
Honors Convocation
Leonard Auditorium, Main Building

Friday, May 5
3 p.m.
Student Science Research Presentations
Olin Teaching Theater

Saturday, May 6
7 p.m.
Wofford Music Department Spring Concert
Leonard Auditorium, Main Building

Monday, May 8
4:30 p.m.
Economics Guest Speaker: Professor P.J. Hill (Wheaton), “Markets & Morality”
McMillan Theater

Saturday, May 13
1 p.m.
ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
McMillan Theater, Campus Life Building

Saturday, May 13
5 p.m.
Baccalaureate Service
Lawn of Main Building

Sunday, May 14
9:30 a.m.
Commencement Exercises
Lawn of Main Building