SPARTANBURG, South Carolina – Dozens of Wofford College students were recognized for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship on Friday, May 20, at the college’s annual Honors Convocation held in the Jerome Johnson Richardson Theatre in the Rosalind Sallenger Richardson Center for the Arts.

President Nayef Samhat named Paola Cruz ’23, a double major from Charlotte, North Carolina, studying sociology and anthropology and Spanish, as Wofford’s Presidential International Scholar for the 2022-23 academic year.

Academic departments also recognized their outstanding students, and a variety of other leadership and citizenship awards were presented during the event. Find background on awards.

These are the awards and recipients:

Accounting, The Harold W. Green Award: Jay Stevens, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Art History: Elena Pulanco, Englewood, New Jersey

Studio Art: Lizzie Fisher, Salisbury, North Carolina

Biology, The W. Ray Leonard Award: Blair Brawley, Newport, Tennessee, and Alexis Tomlin, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Chemistry, The Coleman B. Waller Award: Ethan DiBlasio, Moore, South Carolina

Chinese: Grace Cutter, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

Computer Science, The Dan W. Olds Award: Audrey Wiseman, Aiken, South Carolina

Economics, The Matthew A. Stephenson Award: Ole Berg, Oslo, Norway

Business Economics: Braden Dowdy, Bainbridge, Georgia

English, The L. Harris Chewning Award: Alea Harris, Cincinnati, Ohio; Kendall Owens, Hendersonville, North Carolina; and Avery Volker, Charlotte, North Carolina

Environmental Studies, The John Harrington Award: Wade Wood, Garner, North Carolina

Finance, The James Edwin Proctor Award: Slaton Schneider, Hoover, Alabama

French, The George C.S. Adams Award: Daisy Humphries, Gaffney, South Carolina

German, The James A. Chiles Award: Madelyn Brooks, Gastonia, North Carolina, and Fields Chewning, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Government: Elizabeth Ropp, Hartsville, South Carolina

History, The David Duncan Wallace Award: Avery Volker, Charlotte, North Carolina

Humanities: Carolina Hughes, Conway, South Carolina

International Affairs: Nicholas Wardroup, Parrottsville, Tennessee.

Mathematics, The John Q. Hill Award: Alexis Tomlin, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Philosophy: Hector Ortiz, Saluda, South Carolina

Physics: Aniah Kaltz, Greenwood, South Carolina

Psychology, The James E. Seegars Award: Kate Inabinet, Franklin, North Carolina

Religion, The Charles F. Nesbitt Award: Sera Guerry, Bonneau, South Carolina

Sociology and Anthropology, The Gerry Ginocchio Award: Destiny Shippy, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Sociology and Anthropology, Commitment to Excellence: Olivia Free, Moncks Corner, South Carolina

Spanish, The John L. Salmon Award: Jay Stevens, Spartanburg, South Carolina, and Grace Gehlken, Charleston, South Carolina

Theatre, The James R. Gross Award: Rachel Kearse, Columbia, South Carolina

Music, The George A. Carlisle Award: Laura Mitchell, Inman, South Carolina

The Global Citizen Award: Alex Quinn, Fort Mill, South Carolina

The Walter E. Hudgins Award: Joanna Burgess, Clinton, South Carolina

Wofford Student Diversity & Inclusion Award: Alea Harris, Cincinnati, Ohio

The John Bruce Memorial Award: Marisa Barrera, Cowpens, South Carolina

The Currie B. Spivey Award: Marquice Clark, principal; Mary Elizabeth Fields, community engagement coordinator; and all faculty and staff at Cleveland Academy of Leadership

The Henry Freeman Service Award: Olivia Free, Moncks Corner, South Carolina, and Brandon Molina, Clover, South Carolina

The “Heart of the Terrier” Leadership Awards:
Emily Bygott, Columbia, South Carolina
Harrison Chase, Charlotte, North Carolina
Braden Dowdy, Bainbridge, Georgia
Ellis Goodwin, North Charleston, South Carolina
Dylan Goshorn, Harleyville, South Carolina
Alicia Jones, Lancaster, South Carolina
Fadzai Mushayamunda, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
Elena Pulanco, Englewood, New Jersey
Jonathan Strickland, Spartanburg, South Carolina
Virginia Francis Teel, Flat Rock, North Carolina
Sopharvathdy Vorn, Spartanburg, South Carolina

American Legion: Sera Guerry, Bonneau, South Carolina, and Jay Stevens, Spartanburg, South Carolina

The Eric L. Marshall Award: Dieran McGowan, Taylors, South Carolina

The Outstanding Citizen: Destiny Shippy, Spartanburg, South Carolina

The William James McLeod Award: Frederick Christian Wright V, Chestertown, Maryland

The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award: Anne Darby Keating, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Fraternity Awards
Phi Kappa Phi Switzer Award: Michael Ryan Ferro, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Pi Kappa Alpha Kinney Award: Matthew Roberts Kirby, Greenville, South Carolina

Campus Union Faculty Award: Dr. Charles G. Bass
Campus Union Staff Award: Dr. Boyce M. Lawton III