SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Dozens of Wofford College students were recognized for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship Tuesday, May 8, 2018, at the college's annual Honors Convocation held in Leonard Auditorium in Main Building.

President Nayef Samhat named sophomore Lydia Estes as Wofford’s 35th Presidential International Scholar. The Spanish and art history major with a minor in government from Carlisle, Pa., will travel beginning in July to developing countries to conduct independent research on her self-selected topic of “The Role of Art in Women’s Rights Movements in Latin America.”

Academic departments recognized their outstanding students and a variety of other awards were presented during the event.

These are the honors and recipients:

Presidential International ScholarLydia Estes, Carlisle, Pa.
Accounting: The Harold W. Green Award – Matthew Stuckey Martin, Lexington, S.C.
Art HistoryJulie Lauren Woodson, Greenville, S.C.
Biology: The W. Ray Leonard Award – Rachel Claire Fenner, Baton Rouge, La.
Business Economics – Berkley Blair Manchester, Midlothian, Va.
Chemistry: The Coleman B. Waller Award – LaceyAnne Elizabeth Robinson, Columbia, S.C.
ChineseRachel Elizabeth Dantzler, Birmingham, Ala., and Anna Katherine Wilson, Fort Mill, S.C.

Computer Science: The Dan W. Olds Award – Cristian Glenn Widenhouse, Daniel Island, S.C.
Economics: The Matthew A. Stephenson Award – Caroline Crosland Lamprecht, Moncks Corner, S.C.
English: The L. Harris Chewning Award – Kelsey Bryn Aylor, Lawrenceville, Ga., and Alyssa Torey Ballenger, Wellford, S.C.
Environmental Studies: The John W. Harrington Award – Madison Caroline Guyton, Cowpens, S.C.
Finance: The James Edwin Proctor Award – Morgan Nicole Lautner, Nicholasville, Ky.
French: The George C.S. Adams Award – Berkely Blair Manchester, Midlothian, Va.
German: The James A. Chiles Award – Jennifer Alexis Copps, Newry, S.C.
GovernmentMadison Caroline Guyton, Cowpens, S.C., and Emily Weston Kannon, Florence, S.C.
History: The David Duncan Wallace Award - Lee Thomas Holden, Daytona Beach, Fla.
HumanitiesKelsey Bryn Aylor, Lawrenceville, Ga.; Helen Hunt Cribb, Charleston, S.C.; Danielle Marie Densford, Sellersburg, Ind.; and William Cameron West, Montgomery, Ala.
International AffairsSarah Catherine Clemens, Rock Hill, S.C.
Mathematics: The John Q. Hill Mathematics Award – Isis Angelina Marie Quinlan, Lancaster, S.C.
PhilosophyLee Thomas Holden, Daytona Beach, Fla., and Maya Gabrielle Ward, Greer, S.C.
PhysicsSebastian Richard Luce, Jamestown, N.C.
Psychology: The James E. Seegars Psychology Award – Vanessa Crystal Zarubin, Fort Mill, S.C.
Religion: The Charles F. Nesbitt Award – Justin Kevin Bouknight, Lexington, S.C.
Sociology and AnthropologyAbigail Jean Lee, York, S.C., and Victoria Logan Edwards, Columbia, S.C.
Spanish: The John L. Salmon Award – Sarah Bennett Spiro, Webster, N.C.
Theatre: The James R. Gross Award – Tristan Mari Krebs, Louisville, Ky.;, and Mae Clair Hoffman, Swansea, S.C.
The George A. Carlisle Award (Music Department) – Lindsay Montgomery Pindar, Savannah, Ga.
The W. Norman Cochran Award – Kelsey Bryn Aylor, Lawrenceville, Ga.
The Global Citizen Award – Holly Elizabeth Stevens, Nebo, N.C.
The Walter E. Hudgins Award – Farahnez Afaq, Spartanburg, S.C.
The Senior Order of Gnomes – Joshua Stone Crawford, Norcross, Ga.; Drake Harrison McCormick, Fort Mill, S.C.; Zachary Parks Schoen, Greenville, S.C.; and Bailey Elizabeth Wise, Charlotte, N.C.
Wofford Student Diversity and Inclusion Award - Farahnez Afaq, Spartanburg, S.C., and Caitlynn Danielle Myer, Hickory, N.C.
The John Bruce Memorial Award – Farahnez Afaq, Spartanburg, S.C.
The Henry Freeman Service Award – Phyllicia Thomas Smiling, Wilmington, Del., and Juliana Mejia Rima, Jackson Heights, N.Y.
The “Heart of the Terrier” Leadership Awards – Elizabeth Margaret Beecy, Charlotte, N.C.; Justin Kevin Bouknight, Lexington, S.C.; Robert Osborne Brown, Greenville, S.C.; Essence Unique Buckman, Sumter, S.C.; Henry Shaw Cornelson, Greenville, S.C.; Joshua Stone Crawford, Norcross, Ga.; Seth Flanagan, Chevy Chase, Md.; Ashlee Dianna Gomez, Woodruff, S.C.; Matthew Stuckey Martin, Lexington, S.C.; Chiedza Mushayamunda, Winston Salem, N.C.; Juliana Mejia Rima, Jackson Heights, N.Y.; Zachary Parks Schoen, Greenville, S.C.; and Olivia Virginia Vasquez, Duluth, Ga.
The American Legion Award – Maya Gabrielle Ward, Greer, S.C., and James Clowney Brice, Greer, S.C.
The Eric Marshall Award – John Albert Patterson, Lilburn, Ga.
The Outstanding Citizen Award – Bailey Elizabeth Wise, Charlotte, N.C.
The William James McLeod Award – Drake Harrison McCormick, Sumter, S.C.
The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award – George Thomas Smiling, Columbia, S.C.

Faculty and Staff Recognitions:

The Currie B. Spivey Award – Dr. Kara L. Bopp, associate professor of psychology and department chair
Campus Union Faculty Award – Dr. James R. Neighbors, associate professor of English
Campus Union Staff Awards – Demario L. Watts, assistant dean of students for diversity and leadership development
Wofford Faculty/Staff Diversity and Inclusion Award – Sara K. Milani, international programs adviser