Home > Re: Thinking Education

All Events | Events about the Liberal Arts | Events Representative of the Liberal Arts | Performances, Screenings, Exhibitions 

Performances, Screenings, and Exhibitions

Many events throughout the Year raise the themes of the liberal arts and higher education through the media of live theatre, film, and fine art. Engaging the audience on the cognitive and emotional levels, the events listed below invite ongoing reflection on the core values of the liberal arts college. 
 

Spring Semester, 2013

Tuesday, Feb. 12; 4-6pm
Curated by Dr. Philip Stone and Dean Oakley Coburn 
Chapman Gallery; Campus Life Building
 
Thursday, March 7; 7pm
Concert: Carl Sandburg and the Spanish Guitar, Troubadour Series Concert
Featuring: John Akers
Leonard Auditorium
 
Thursday, March 14; 7-9pm
Opening Reception: "Women at Work" Exhibit 
Location: Hub-Bub  
 
March 20-23; 8pm
March 23-24; 2pm
Title:  "The Clean House"
Written by: Sarah Ruhl
Tony White Theater
 
Monday, March 28; 7pm
 Featuring: Violinist William Preucil, Lexi Preucil, William Ransom, Charae Krueger, and Eun-Sun Lee
 Performing: Dohnanyi Piano Quintet, Op. 1 in C minor, along with other works
 Leonard Auditorium

Monday, April 15; 7pm
Chamber Music Series
Featuring: TBA
Performing: TBA
Leonard Auditorium

Thursday, May 2; 7pm
Wofford College Music Department Pops Concert
Featuring: Men’s Glee Club, Women’s Choir, Goldtones and Wofford Men
Pavilion

Friday, May 3; 7pm
Choral Spring Concert
Featuring: Wofford Singers
Leonard Auditorium

Monday, May 6; 7pm
Spring Concert
Featuring: Wofford Concert Band and Chamber Players
Leonard Auditorium

 

 Fall Semester, 2012

 
Thursday, Oct. 11; 4 pm
International Poetry Event: “Native Tongues
Sandor Teszler Library Gallery
 
Friday, Oct. 12; 5:00-7:00pm
Presidential Scholar Art Show, Opening Reception
Artist: Amy Powers ('13)
Show dates: Oct. 12-26
Campus Life Building
 
Wednesday, Sept. 26; 7pm
Screening: The Conformist 
Directed by Bernardo Bertolucci
Olin Theater
 
Wednesday, Oct. 24; 7pm
Screening: The Black List 
Directed by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders
Olin Theater
 
Nov. 8 - 10, & Nov. 14 -17; 8 pm
Performance: The Shadow Box 
Written by Michael Cristofer
Directed by Dan Day
Tony White Theater
 
Tuesday, Dec. 4; 7 pm
Performance:Calculus: The Musical 
Written by Marc Gutman and Sadie Bowman
Leonard Auditorium
 
Friday, Dec 7; 6pm
Curated by Sara Shealy ('13)
Gallery Talk: Dec 7; 6:30pm
Exhibition Dates: Dec 7 - Feb 21
The Johnson Collection Gallery; West Main Street, Spartanburg, SC 29306
 
Check back regularly; events will be added to the schedule throughout the year.