Home > Re: Thinking Education

All Events | Events about the Liberal Arts | Events Representative of the Liberal Arts | Performances, Screenings, Exhibitions 

Events about the Liberal Arts 

The events listed below explicitly address the key topics of our themed year: the liberal arts, higher education, and Wofford College.

 

Spring Semester, 2013

 
Thursday, Feb. 7; 11am
Speaker: Dr. Beverly Daniel Tatum
Leonard Auditorium
 
Tuesday, Feb. 12; 7pm
Panelists: Al Gray, Doug Jones, Mike Vandiver, and others.
Leonard Auditorium 
 
Monday, Feb 18; 2pm
Speakers: John Kuykendall, Robert Knott, and Charlie Reed
RMSC 121
 
Thursday, Feb. 28; 4pm
Speaker: Dr. Philip Swicegood
AAAS

Tuesday, March 19; 11-12:30pm
Speaker: Ty Tessitore
Title: “Liberal Education and Democracy
Location: TBA

 

Tuesday, March 26; 11am
Speaker: Susan Kidd
Title: "Sustainability and the Liberal Arts"
Santee Cooper Lecture Series
Leonard Auditorium

Tuesday, March 26; 2:30pm
Speaker: Jack Byrne
Title: "Sustainability and the Liberal Arts": Q&A
Santee Cooper Lecture Series
Leonard Auditorium

Wednesday, March 27; 12 noon
Speaker: Jack Byrne and Angela Halfacre
Title: "Sustainability and Strategic Planning"
Santee Cooper Lecture Series
Leonard Auditorium

Thursday, April 11; 4pm
Speaker: Christine Dinkins
Title: "Socratic-Hermeneutic Shared Inquiry and Student-Driven Qualitative Assessment"
Faculty Talks Series
AAAS

Thursday, April 18; 11am & 2:30pm
Seminar: "Liberal Education in a Global Context: A Seminar for Students"
Moderator: Todd Breyfogle
Anna Todd Wofford

Tuesday, April 23; 11am
Speaker: Arthur Meltzer
Title: “Why Nature Wants You to Get a Liberal Education
Olin Teaching Theater

Thursday, April 25; 4pm
Speaker: Bill Demars
Title: "Liberal Education under Pressure"
Faculty Talks Series
AAAS

Fall Semester, 2012

 
 Thursday, Sept. 6; 11am
Speaker: President Benjamin B. Dunlap
Title: “Why Are We Here? / The Liberal Arts & the Meaning of Life
Leonard Auditorium
 
Tuesday, Oct. 2; 4 pm
Speaker: Dr. Laura Barbas Rhoden
AAAS
 
Monday, Oct. 15; 4:00pm
Speaker: Dr. David Warren
Leonard Auditorium
 
Thursday, Nov 29, 11am
Roundtable Discussion featuring Dr. Andrew Delbanco

 Anna Todd Wofford

 
Thursday, Nov 29, 7pm
Speaker: Dr. Andrew Delbanco
Leonard Auditorium
Re:Thinking Education Book Club Event 
 

 

 
Check back regularly; events will be added to the schedule throughout the year.