Students studying outside the library

Postgraduate Scholarship Opportunities for Undergraduates

Travis Trojan '15National and international fellowships, grants, and scholarships provide financial awards to exceptional undergraduate students and recent graduates who are interested in teaching abroad, pursuing graduate studies, or conducting research in diverse fields. Wofford College encourages students across all disciplines to consider and apply for these opportunities. The Post-graduate Scholarship Committee supports this effort by providing information about scholarship opportunities, guiding students through the application process, and serving as a screening committee for campus endorsements.

This site offers contact information, a list of links to the most prominent national and international fellowships and grants, and resources to help students complete their application successfully. It is best to begin discussions about applying to such scholarships during the sophomore year. Typically, students begin working on their applications during the spring of their junior year. Wofford graduates have received prestigious awards including Fulbright English Teaching Assistantships, Rotary Ambassadorial Scholarships, and Peace Corps.

Students interested in post-graduate grant opportunities should:

  • have a cumulative grade-point average of at a least a 3.5
  • begin applying during the spring of their junior year (most applications are due early in the fall of the senior year)
  • have superior writing skills
  • demonstrate willingness to write multiple drafts of personal statements and statements of purpose.

Many post-graduate grant opportunities will require that students:

  • demonstrate superior character and leaderships skills
  • have experience with community outreach, volunteering, tutoring, service learning, etc.
  • have some experience either studying, volunteering, or working abroad.

Helpful Information

Past Recipients  


If you have questions or need further help please contact one of the following members of the Postgraduate Scholarship Committee:

Dr. John Ware (Chair)
Dr. Cynthia Fowler  
Dr. Kirsten A. Krick-Aigner
Dr. Kara Bopp
Dr. Stacey Hettes