Dr. Hill and students
Wofford names 12-member presidential search committee

From staff reports
Published: Sunday, September 9, 2012

Wofford College recently named a 12-member presidential search committee to find a new leader.

The group is made up of trustees, faculty, a student representative, alumni and community leaders. The committee is working to find a successor for President Benjamin B. Dunlap, who announced his retirement effective at the end of June 2013.

Wofford’s board of trustees approved the committee on Aug. 24, and the committee began working several days later, board chairman J. Harold Chandler said in a written statement. Chandler, a 1971 Wofford graduate, is an ex officio member of the search committee.

“As we have often said, replacing Bernie Dunlap is a huge undertaking,” Chandler said in the statement. “However, our diversified group ... has tackled the assignment with excitement, high energy and positive anticipation.”

Mike James, a 1973 Wofford graduate and former trustee, was elected chairman of the committee.

The other members of the search committee are the Rev. B. Mike Alexander Jr., a 1973 Wofford graduate and a member of the board of trustees; Charles J. Bradshaw Sr., a 1959 Wofford graduate and a retired business executive; Ellen S. Goldey, the William R. Kenan Professor of Biology and chair of the biology department at Wofford; Laura Jackson Hoy, a Wofford trustee; Joab M. Lesesne Jr., president emeritus of Wofford College; Ronald L. Norman, a member of the class of 2013 and president of Wofford’s Campus Union student government organization; Corry W. Oakes III, a 1989 Wofford graduate and trustee; Stanley E. Porter, a 1989 Wofford graduate and trustee; the Rev. Ronald R. Robinson, the Perkins Prothro Chaplain and Professor of Religion at Wofford; Edward B. Wile, a 1973 Wofford graduate and trustee; and Dennis M. Wiseman, the Reeves Family Professor of Foreign Languages and dean of Center for Innovation and Learning at Wofford.