Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Wofford's 2009 Honors Convocation


(Regina Fuller of Spartanburg named Presidential International Scholar)


The following students were honored Tuesday at the Wofford College Honors Convocation.

Accounting: The Harold W. Green Award (presented by Jenny Johnson)
Brandon Wilson Grigg, Boiling Springs, S.C.

Art History (presented by Karen Goodchild)
Ashley Michelle Harmon-Poston, Newberry, S.C.

Biology: The W. Ray Leonard Award (presented by G. R. Davis)
Travis Guthrie Boyd, Louisville, Ky.
Carolyn Sophia Rivers, Pickens, S.C.

Chemistry: The C.B. Waller Award (presented by Caleb Arrington)
Robert Joseph Harris, Lexington, S.C.

Chinese (presented by Li Qing Kinnison)
Jeff Edward Gurganus, Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Computer Science: The Dan W. Olds Computer Science Award (presented by David Sykes)
Shay Matthew Ellison, Lake City, S.C.

Economics: The Matthew A. Stephenson Award (presented by John McArthur)
William Matthew Lane, Carlisle, Pa.

English: The L. Harris Chewning Award (presented by Carol B. Wilson)
Mary Frances Dassel, Roebuck, S.C.

Finance (presented by Philip Swicegood)
Austin Michael Fitch, Lexington, Ky.

French: The George C.S. Adams Award (presented by Caroline Cunningham)
Danielle Leigh Stewart, Mount Pleasant, S.C.

German: The James A. Chiles Award (presented by Kirsten Krick-Aigner)
Valentina Brega, Raleigh, N.C.

Government (presented by William E. DeMars)
Kevin Desmond Maroney, Bethesda, Md.

History: The David Duncan Wallace Award (presented by Anne Rodrick)
Vanessa Juliet Lauber, Greer, S.C.
Lindy Bunch, Columbia, S.C.

Humanities (presented by Anne Rodrick)
Emily Margaret O’Hanlan, Murrell’s Inlet, S.C.

Intercultural Studies (presented by Ana Maria Wiseman)
Murray Melinda Meetze, Columbia, S.C.

Intercultural Studies for Business (presented by Shawn Forbes)
Elizabeth Anne Sheets, Tega Cay, S.C.

The John Q. Hill Mathematics Award (presented by Matt Cathey)
Robert Joseph Harris, Lexington, S.C.

Philosophy (presented by James Keller)
Mary Alexander Rea, Catawba, S.C.

The James E. Seegars Psychology Award (presented by David Pittman)
Hannah Lillian Dinnen, Cincinnati, Oh.

Religion: The Charles F. Nesbitt Award (presented by Katherine Jones)
Mary Frances Dassel, Roebuck, S.C.

Sociology (presented by Gerald Thurmond)
Jessie Leigh Davis, Loudon, Tenn.

Spanish: The John L. Salmon Award (presented by Laura Barbas Rhoden)
Kristen Taylor Davis, Columbia, S.C.
Matthew Lauritz Low, Lexington, S.C.

Theatre: The James R. Gross Award (presented by Mark A. Ferguson)
Kathryn Lane Eisenburg, Fayetteville, Ga.
Evelyn Elizabeth Hutchens, Bismarck, N.D.

The George A. Carlisle Award (presented by W. Gary McCraw)
Christopher Michael Campbell, Piedmont, S.C.

The W. Norman Cochran Award (presented by Deno P. Trakas)
Jessica Miller, Spartanburg, S.C.

The Benjamin Wofford Prize (presented by Deno P. Trakas)
Elizabeth Reynolds, Stockbridge, Ga.

The Global Citizen Award (presented by Ana Maria Wiseman)
Kristen Taylor Davis, Columbia, S.C.

The Walter E. Hudgins Award (presented by Amy H. Sweitzer )
Michael Vaughn, Kershaw, S.C.

Heart of a Terrier Award
Shelby Bayliss, Charleston, S.C.
Valentina Brega, Raleigh, N.C.
Lindy Bunch, Columbia, S.C.
Scott Collins, Franklin, Tenn.
Jessie Davis, Loudon, Tenn.
Brandon Hunt, Louisville, Ky.
Vanessa Lauber, Greer, S.C.
Harley Littleton, Spartanburg, S.C.
Collins McCraw, Spartanburg, S.C.
Brent Troxell, Boiling Srpings, S.C.
Jamie Wilson, Saint Stephen, S.C.

American Legion Award
Valerie Douglas, Lyman, S.C.
Austin Fitch, Lexington, Ky.

Outstanding Citizen Award
Drew Bryan, Johns Island, S.C.

William James McLeod Award
Kristen Davis, Columbia, S.C.

Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award
Brent Owen, Carrollton, Texas

Campus Union Recognitions (presented by Matthew A. Abee)
• 2008-09 Campus Union President – Brent Troxell, Boiling Springs, S.C.
• Sandra Casey Award – Scott Cochran, director of career services
• Faculty Member of the Year – Dr. Phil Racine

Senior Order of the Gnomes (presented by A.K. Anderson)
Harry Andrew (Drew) Bryan, Johns Island, S.C.
Kristen Taylor Davis, Columbia, S.C.
Brent Troxell, Boiling Springs, S.C.

The Currie B. Spivey Award (presented by P. Lyn Pace)
Lindy Bunch, Columbia, S.C.

The Henry Freeman Service Award (presented by Ronald R. Robinson)
Scott Lee Collins, Franklin, Tenn.