Students studying outside the library

Cunningham honored by S.C. Independent Colleges, Universities

Caroline Cunningham

Wofford professor receives award

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Dr. Caroline A. Cunningham, professor of French and Spanish at Wofford is among the recipients of Excellence in Teaching awards presented Tuesday, April 13, in Columbia by South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities Inc. Other Upstate professors being honored included Dr. Mirko Manfred Hall, assistant professor of German studies at Converse College; Gabriel Stoeppler, associate professor of accounting, at Limestone College; and Dr. Jack Williams, English professor at Spartanburg Methodist College.

Cunningham is in her 26th year at Wofford College. While completing her B.A. in French and Spanish from the University of Georgia, she studied abroad in Mexico and in Dijon, France. She earned her M.A. in French and Ph.D. in romance philology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

At Wofford, Cunningham serves as college marshal, co-moderator of Pi Delta Phi National French Honor Society, and guide for Wofford’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. She was chair of the Foreign Languages Department from 2003-2005, and currently serves on the Interim committee, Rhodes Scholarship interview committee, and Fulbright Scholarship interview committee. She has gone on numerous recruiting trips with the Admission Office.

Cunningham’s research interests focus on Francophone culture and literature, especially in Africa and the Caribbean. Her professional activities have taken her to Buenos Aires, Argentina; Marseilles, Paris, and Berlin; Santiago, Chile; the Loire Valley, and French-speaking Switzerland. She has traveled with students to Martinique and Guadeloupe; Belgium, France and Switzerland; Belize, and Italy.

“Dr. Cunningham represents all that is good and right about teaching – remarkable competence, innovation and creativity, and a love of learning for herself and her students. She changes and enriches lives every day,” says Wofford President Benjamin B. Dunlap.

Each of the 20 member institutions of the SCICU consortium selects one faculty member each year to receive the award, which includes a professional development stipend for the professor. Each recipient is chosen by his or her institution according to rigorous criteria. The most important characteristic of the nominees is their demonstration of the highest standards in teaching methods that encourage students to strive for excellence in their studies and pursuits.

SCICU was established in 1953 with the primary mission of promoting independent higher education in South Carolina. SCICU seeks to advance independent higher education through fundraising, scholarships, research, and by facilitating collaborative activities among the 20 member institutions, which educate nearly 33,000 students each year. For additional information about SCICU, contact Mike LeFever or Brenda Torrence at 803-799-7122, or visit

MEDIA: For a high-resolution (300 dpi) photo, click on the thumbnail below.  Right-click and save to your computer.