Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Wofford Zeta Tau Alpha chapter wins awards

Duvall, Waddell, and Richardson with the prestigious 2nd Runner- Up Nelly Galloway Shearer Achievement Award

Blair Waddell, Anna Richardson, and Beverly Duvall represented Zeta Tau Alpha’s Theta Zeta Chapter at Wofford College at the organization’s 49th National and 38th International Convention in Tucson, Ariz., July 9-13. Waddell serves as the chapter’s President; Richardson holds the office of Vice President (Coordinator of Committees); and Duvall is the chapter’s Alumnae-Collegiate relations officer.

The three students joined over 700 ZTA collegiate and alumnae members and National Officers at the biennial convention, including the fraternity’s legislative body, which consists of delegates from 148 collegiate chapters and more than 235 alumnae organizations. Members attended programs on wellness, hazing prevention and personal responsibility.

The chapter received the following awards at convention: Quota/Total Award, Financial Excellence Award, Academic Achievement Award, Crown Chapter Award, and a Founder’s Club Award for raising $25,000 towards the ZTA Foundation. Theta Zeta was also the proud recipient of second runner up of the prestigious Nelly Galloway Shearer Achievement Award. This rotating award is the second highest honor presented to a collegiate chapter and ranks Theta Zeta as 5th in the nation in overall excellence.

Zeta Tau Alpha was founded in 1898 at the State Female Normal School (now Longwood University) in Farmville, Va., and has more than 195,000 members worldwide. One of the nation’s largest Greek women’s groups, ZTA develops members’ leadership, academic and service skills, and supports breast cancer education and awareness as its national philanthropy.