Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Outstanding students recognized at Honors Day


SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Wofford College President Benjamin B. Dunlap named Jonathan Hufford as the 24th Presidential International Scholar and departmental awards and other special recognitions were presented at the annual Honors Convocation on Tuesday, May 6.

Here are the departmental and special award winners:

Accounting (The Harold W. Green Award) - MacKenzie Lyn McCraw

Art History - Sarah Marie McClure

Biology (The W. Ray Leonard Award) - Zachary Erwin Chillag, Joshua Andrew Smith, Laura Elizabeth Smith

Chemistry (The C.B. Waller Award) - Amanda Blane Doody

Chinese - Christopher Stuart Hines

Computer Science (The Dan W. Olds Computer Science Award) - Paul Ariel Wood

Economics (The Matthew A. Stephenson Award) - Claudia Mary Ann Winkler

English (The L. Harris Chewning Award) - Rebecca Lynn Siegert, Brian Andrew Timmons

Finance - Santiago Agustin Mariani, Mark Lawson Reynolds

French (The George C. S. Adams Award) - Samuel André Small

German (The James A. Chiles Award) - John Wilton Wood

Government - Marghretta Adeline Hagood

History (The David Duncan Wallace Award) - Ivy Elizabeth Farr, Mariel Denise Willenberg

Intercultural Studies - Bevin Zeke Herrmann-Bell

Mathematics (The John Q. Hill Mathematics Award) - Sarah Covington Anderson, Ryan Gregory Hill

Philosophy - Ashleigh Rayanna Wilson

Psychology (The James E. Seegars Psychology Award) - Mary-Catherine Elizabeth McClain, Kimberly Renae Smith

Religion (The Charles F. Nesbitt Award) - Stephen Phillip Harris

Sociology - McKenzie Anne Perry, James Franklin Tindal

Spanish (The John L. Salmon Award) - Lindsey Marie Gates

Theatre (The James R. Gross Award) - Victoria Paige Macomson

Music (The George A. Carlisle Award) - Victoria Paige Macomson

Writing (The W. Norman Cochran Award) - Brian Andrew Timmons

The Global Citizen Award John Wilton Wood

The Walter E. Hudgins Award Zachary Erwin Chillag