Dr. Hill and students

Wofford welcomes new faculty, staff

Promotions also announced 

September 28, 2007

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Wofford College announces these appointments and promotions of new faculty and staff for the 2007-08 academic year:

Promotions from associate professor to professor: 

William Emile DeMars, professor of government; B.A., Creighton University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Notre Dame

John Charles Lefebvre, professor of psychology; B.A., McGill University; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University

John Robert McArthur, professor of economics; B.S., M.S., Montana State University; Ph.D., Claremont Graduate School

Cynthia Ann Suárez, professor of education; B.A., M.A., University of Iowa; Ed.D., East Tennessee State University

Promotion from assistant professor to associate professor: 

Christine Sorrell Dinkins, associate professor of philosophy; B.A., Wake Forest University; M.A., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

John Kirkland Fort, associate professor of economics; B.A., Wofford College; J.D., Samford University

George Mackay Salley, associate professor of physics; B.S., Wofford College; Ph.D., University of Georgia

Catherine Lerat Schmitz, associate professor of French; B.A., University of Paris-Nanterre; M.A., Ph.D., Indiana University

Named chair of department: 

Jameica Hill, chemistry; B.S., Wofford College; Ph.D., Clemson University

Ted Monroe, mathematics; B.S., Gardner-Webb University; M.A., Wake Forest University; Ph.D., University of South Carolina

New Faculty Appointments: 

Colleen Magarity Ballance, assistant professor of theatre (appointed in Spring 2007); B.F.A., Tulane University; M.F.A., Brandeis University

Marco R. Deyasi, assistant professor of art history; B.A., Carleton; M.A., University of Western Ontario; Ph.D., Duke University

Shawn M. Forbes, professor of finance; B.B.A., Ph.D., University of Georgia

Lee Ann Frederick, assistant professor of biology; B.S., Pennsylvania State University; Ph.D., Clemson University

Andrew Green, assistant professor of accounting and finance; B.A., Tulane University; M.B.A., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; CPA, North Carolina

Luke C. Ingram, instructor in mathematics; B.S., Virginia Tech University; M.S., College of Charleston

Anita Reynolds McLeod, visiting professor in education and chair (Fall 2007); B.A., Furman University; M.Ed., Ph.D., University of South Carolina

John F. Moeller, associate professor of biology; B.A., University of California, San Diego; Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara

Elisa Jane Pollack, assistant professor of foreign languages; B.A., Grinnell College; M.A., Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Thomas Christopher Waidner, associate professor of chemistry; B.S., Wofford College; Ph.D., Georgetown University

Sullivan Canaday White, assistant professor of theatre; B.A., University of Kentucky; M.A., Northwestern University; M.F.A., Virginia Commonwealth University

Staff promotions: 

Lauren Hackett, promoted to resident director of director of special programs

Thom Henson, promoted to assistant director of development

Barbara Jefferson, promoted to controller

Betsy Claire Neely, promoted to full-time career counselor

Janine Thomas, promoted to financial analyst

New staff: 

Josh Conklin, assistant football coach

Kevin Flowers, equipment manager

Tanya Frantz, Campus Ministry office manager

Matthew D. Giles, admission counselor; Wofford College

Tammy Gilliam, health services nurse practitioner

Matthew Hammett, assistant director of residence life

Wes Herlocker, strength and conditioning coach

Todd Interdonato, head baseball coach

Janella Lane, office of communications and marketing administrative assistant

Millicent B. Lann, director of job location and development

Chad Odom, assistant volleyball coach

Juanita Pesaro, development office administrative assistant

Courtney Shelton, director of student activities and Greek Life

Samuel S. (Wells) Shepard, associate director of admission

Jessalyn Wynn Story, director of community partners and coordinator of Bonner Scholars

Palmer J. Straughn, assistant director of admission; Wofford College

Susan M. Thomas, psychology department administrative assistant

Steve Traylor, director of intramurals and campus recreation

Sandra Watkins, Campus Post Office manager

Brooke Wilhoit, assistant women’s basketball coach

Brent Williamson, assistant athletics director for media relations

Jason Womick, information management

Admission Office interns – Terrence Ware, Geoffrey Thomas, Josh Gardner 

Athletics Department assistant trainers – Brent Avery, Elizabeth Spita, Mollie Jackson, Lee Boswell 

Athletics Department interns – Tim Laurita, facilities; Montesia Deas, media relations

Assistant baseball coaches – Dusty Blake, Nick Jaska, Anthony Dillenger 

Assistant men’s basketball coaches – Paul Harrison, Geoff Shyatt, Michael O. Boynton 

Campus Safety officers – Michael Dantzler, Jason Kimbrell