Dr. Hill and students

Wofford ROTC cadet receives George C. Marshall Award

April 24, 2006

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Wofford College ROTC Cadet Brooke Johnson of Columbia, S.C., is the recipient of the George C. Marshall Award.

Given annually, the award is presented to the most outstanding cadet in the Army ROTC program at Wofford. It is named in honor of Army Gen. George C. Marshall, who served as chief of staff of the Army and secretary of both state and defense. He was author of the restorative Marshall Plan and was the only career soldier to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Johnson was selected for her professional excellence, leadership, personal integrity and selfless service to the nation. She attended the George C. Marshall ROTC Award Seminar in Lexington, Ky., (April 11-15, 2006), where the top cadets in the country participated in discussions and lectures led by scholars and experts in the area of national defense.

“Cadet Johnson is our top cadet this year,” says Lt. Col. James V. Davis, professor of military science at Wofford. “She will become an outstanding officer in our Army. After graduation she will continue her education as she pursues a law degree. Upon completion of law school, Cadet Johnson will enter the Army in the Judge Advocate General Corps (JAG).”

Johnson, a senior psychology major, is the daughter of Wanda Johnson of Columbia, S.C. She attended W.J. Keenan High School. She is an Old Main Scholar. In addition to being a cadet with the Southern Guards Battalion, she is a member of Scabbard and Blade Society, and is the recipient of the Von Steuben Drill Award and the Superior Cadet Award. She will be commissioned on May, 13, 2006.