Dr. Hill and students

Composer, performer Eaton to lecture at Wofford April 25

April 18, 2006

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – John Eaton, professor emeritus at the University of Chicago and composer and performer of electronic and microtonal music, will be the guest speaker at 11 a.m. on Tuesday, April 25, for Wofford College’s Phi Beta Kappa Day. The event, free and open to the public, will be held in the Verandah Room of the Richardson Physical Activities Building.

The initiation of new Phi Beta Kappa members-in-course will be held at 4 p.m. in the Papadopoulos Building.

Eaton’s talk is titled “New Frontiers: Significant Recent Developments in Musical Techniques and Materials.” His works have been performed extensively throughout the world, and he has written a score of operas, including “The Cry of Clytaemnestra,” “Myshkin,” “Danton and Robespierre,” and “The Tempest.” In 1991, in collaboration with the New York New Music Ensemble, he formed the Pocket Opera Players, which has premiered more than 10 pocket operas, including “Peer Gynt,” “Don Quixote,” “…inasmuch,” and “Pinocchio.”

Eaton was a professor of music composition at the University of Chicago from 1991 to 2001. Previously, he had been on the music faculty at Indiana University, where he also was artistic director of the Center for Electronic and Computer Music. He is the recipient of three Prix de Rome grants, two Guggenheim grants, a MacArthur Fellowship and commissions from the Koussevitzky and Fromm Foundations, the Santa Fe Opera, the NEA, and the Public Broadcasting Corp. He has served as composer-in-residence at the American Academy in Rome and lectured at the Salzburg Seminar in American Studies.

Wofford has one of the nation’s 270 Phi Beta Kappa chapters. The prestigious liberal arts honor society is devoted to the principles of “friendship, morality, and literature (or learning).” Founded at the College of William and Mary in December 1776, it was the first of the Greek letter fraternities. John Quincy Adams, Edward Everette and Joseph Story, members of the Harvard chapter, are credited with making the fraternity a public literary and honor society for undergraduate men and women in the 1830s. With almost 400,000 members across the country, Phi Beta Kappa today sponsors numerous programs to encourage scholarship and learning, including the Phi Beta Kappa Book Awards, visiting scholars, academic fellowships, and leadership programs.

Twenty-seven Wofford students or recent graduates will be initiated into Phi Beta Kappa as the Wofford chapter observes its 65th anniversary. Also initiated will be an alumnus member, Harold Dean Thompson Jr. (Clinton, S.C.), and an honorary member, Dr. Nancy Bingham Mandlove (Spartanburg, S.C.), a professor of Spanish and coordinator of Latin American and Caribbean Studies at Wofford.

Initiates are:

Class of 2005:
Erin A. Luetkemeier, Pineville, N.C.
Sarah M. McLean, Athens, Ga.
Roxana A. Opris, West Columbia, S.C.
Emily C. Sheiry, Arlington, Va.

Class of 2006:
Jennifer K. Aust, Fayetteville, Ga.
Sheldon A. Bates, Lugoff, S.C.
Angela C. Berry, Modesto, Calif.
Nancy M. (Melia) Brannon, Taylors, S.C.
Anna-Maria A. Clark, Brevard, N.C.
Kimberly A. Collins, Boiling Springs, S.C.
Ashley E. Cox, North Augusta, S.C.
Miriam A. Hahn, Dearing, Ga.
Meghan E. Hall, Charleston, W. Va.
Charles R. (Charlie) Jennings, Morganton, N.C.
Emily S. Joseph, Gaston, S.C.
Benjamin W. McCraw, Inman, S.C.
Amanda M. McMillan, West Columbia, S.C.
Keely M. Mohon, Johnson City, Tenn.
Rachel E. Moore, Columbia, S.C.
Elizabeth A. Norman, Simpsonville, S.C.
Jeffrey H. Rollison, West Columbia, S.C.
Emily T. Smith, Woodruff, S.C.
Kathleen G. (Katie) Sobczyk, Genesee, Idaho
Laura S. Vaughn, Bogart, Ga.

Class of 2007:
Lauren J. Bayne, Greer, S.C.
Krupa D. Desai, Spartanburg, S.C.
Ivy E. Farr, Inman, S.C.