Dr. Hill and students

Authors Lee Smith, Hal Crowther to read at Wofford

November 28, 2005

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Readings by authors Lee Smith and Hal Crowther will be presented at 7:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 29, at Wofford College as part of the “Cornbread to Sushi Series: Exploring the Real and Imagined Rural South” course offered this semester.

The presentation, “Beyond Cornbread: The Rural South Today,” in the Olin Teaching Theater is free and open to the public.

“Cornbread to Sushi,” a course being taught by Dr. Deno Trakas and John Lane with financial support from the Watson-Brown Foundation of Georgia, is designed to provide a rare academic experience for their students – an impressive slate of visiting writers, historians and performers. Tuesday’s reading is the last presentation during the fall semester.

Some students in the course will participate in a travel opportunity during the January Interim term in which they will visit writers in various locations, getting an “on-the-ground perspective of how an author’s sense of place inspires creativity,” says Trakas. During the spring semester, a smaller collection of students will work with Trakas and Lane to plan a conference and edit a book featuring original writings by students, professors and some guest authors. By the end of the course, Trakas hopes, the students will have a “better understanding of the place where they live – its history, present circumstances and its future.”

Smith is a renowned author, including the novels “Saving Grace,” “News of the Spirit,” “Oral History” and “Black Mountain Breakdown.” She is married to Crowther, a journalist who has written for Time, Newsweek and The Oxford American, is the author of “Unarmed But Dangerous,” a recently published collection of essays. He received the H.L. Mencken Award in 1993.

Other guests of the “Cornbread to Sushi Series” have been acclaimed historian Jack Temple Kirby; fiction writers Ha Jin, William Koon and George Singleton; poet Ron Rash; and musicians Little Pink Anderson, Robbie Fulks, Fayssoux McLean and Jason Ringenberg.