Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Students receive awards, honors

May 23, 2005

Wofford College recently presented a variety of awards and honors to students, most of them graduating seniors, during events surrounding the 151st Commencement at the college.

The following honors were given:

Academic Departmental Awards:
The Harold W. Green Award (Accounting) - Diane Lee Slider
Art History - Margaret Elisabeth Grimsley
The R.A. Patterson Award (Biology) - Brian Taylor Greene
The C.B. Waller Award (Chemistry) - Alexander Hray
Computer Science - David Joseph Harmon
The Matthew A. Stephenson Award (Economics) - Bonnie Elizabeth Allen
The L. Harris Chewning Award (English) - Catherine Clair England
Finance - Robert John Lack
The George C.S. Adams Award (French) - Karen Marie Kaczorowski and Kristin Elizabeth Sams
The John L. Salmon Award (Spanish) - Hilary Gilmore Smith
The James A. Chiles Award (German) - Margaret Vann Meyer
Government - Bonnie Elizabeth Allen and Joshua Steven Whitley
The David Duncan Wallace Award (History) - Allyn Lewis Steele
Intercultural Studies - Emily Christine Sheiry
Intercultural Studies for Business - Caroline Marie Schultz
The John Q. Hill Mathematics Award - Benjamin Wall Ingram IV
Philosphy - Brian Charles Lucier
Physics - Philip Andrew Ladd
The James E. Seegars Psychology Award - Abigail Amelia Anderson
The Charles F. Nesbit Award (Religion) - Rachel Leigh Doboney
Sociology - Charles William Lewis
The James R. Gross Award (Theatre) - Ellen Elise Sanders
The George A. Carlisle Award - Abby Anderson
The Walter E. Hudgins Award - Allyn Steele and Brian Greene
The Benjamin Wofford Prize - Thomas Pierce

Other Special Awards:
The John Bruce Award - Angelica Williams and Hayley O'Connor
The Henry Freeman Award - Diane Slider
The Currie Spivey Award - Minna Hosseini
The American Legion Award - Jeannie Collins and Brian Greene
The Outstanding Citizen Award - Bonnie Elizabeth Allen
The William James McLeod Award - Allyn Lewis Steele
The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award - Cowles Gilchrist
The President's Award - Josh Whitley
The Senior Order of Gnomes - Beth Butler, Curtis Gaylord, Aja Russell, Allyn Steele, Josh Whitley

Heart of the Terrier Awards:
Bonnie Allen
Beth Butler
Tiffany Butler
Jeannie Collins
Edward Crosswell
Lizzie Davis
Curtis Gaylord
Cowles Gilchrist
Brian Greene
Ricaye Harris
Minna Hosseini
Trevor Hray
Liz Hodges
Ben Ingram
Chuck Lewis
Sarah McLean
Hayley O’Connor
Roxana Opris
Erin Powell
Janet Rhodes
Aja Russell
Kristin Sams
Emily Sandifer
Ada Scheid
Sara Shields
Hilary Smith
Marty Smith
Amelia Snider
Allyn Steele
Dotty Strobel
Jordan Thrasher
Ryan Waller
Josh Whitley
Paul Wojoski
Amy Yanke

Campus Union Recognitions:
Staff Member of the Year - Evelyn Boyd
Faculty Member of the Year - Dr. Byron McCane

2005-06 Presidential International Scholar - Neill Russell (Russ) Sandifer

Greek Awards:
All-Fraternity Scholarship Award and Individual Scholastic Achievement Recognition (GPA 3.75 or above) - Lee McAlilly
All-Sorority Scholarship Award - Hilary Smith
All-Chapter Scholarship Award - Ashleigh Hambright
Make-A-Difference Award - Jennifer Almond
Make-A-Difference Award and NPHC Woman of the Year Award - Monique Batchelor
Make-A-Difference Award - Elizabeth Frazier
Make-A-Difference Award - Emily Sandifer
Make-A-Difference Award and Individual Scholastic Achievement Recognition (GPA 3.75 or above) - Sarah Shields
The Charles E. Cauthen Award - Edward Crosswell
The Kinney/Pi Kappa Alpha Award and IFC Man of the Year Award - Curtis Gaylord
The Switzer/Pi Kappa Phi Leadership Cup - Steve Hoover
Kelan J. Brown/Sigma Alpha Epsilon Leadership Award - Wil Hutchens
IFC New Member of the Year Award - Ryan Hill
Panhellenic New Member of the Year Award - Ashley Glasgow
Panhellenic Woman of the Year Award - Hayley O'Connor
NPHC Man of the Year Award - Erik Hutchinson

Southern Guards Battalion ROTC Awards (Wofford recipients):
American Legion Scholastic Excellence Award – Cadet Stephanie Worlund
Military Officers’ Association of America Senior ROTC Medal – Cadet Ponnicaterral McKenzie
Military Order of the World Wars Silver Award – Cadet Parks Bunch
National Sojourner’s Award – Cadet Michael Wood
Reserve Officers’ Association Award – Cadet Christopher Williams
Sons of the American Revolution Senior ROTC Award – Cadet Hunter Smith
Army Physical Fitness Test awards – Cadet Parks Bunch
Von Stueben Award Fall 2004 – Cadet Brooke Johnson
Department of the Army Superior Cadet Citations – Cadet Parks Bunch, Cadet Brooke Johnson
Army Distinguished Military Student Citation – Cadet Hunter Smith
Cadet Professional Development Training Airborne Qualification Course Completion – Cadet Brooke Johnson
National Society of Scabbard and Blade Initiates – Cadet Ponnicaterral McKenzie, Cadet Michael Wood, Cadet Stephanie Worlund and Cadet Parks Bunch

Blue Key National Honor Society
Callie Bagwell
Lauren Bayne
Elise Boos
Lindsay Grosso
Caroline Labban
Amanda McMillan
Kristofer Roof
Emily Sandifer
Russ Sandifer
Sarah Smith
Lauren Stephenson
Kathryn Stroud
Saterria Williams
Ashley Worley
Kristin Zollinger

Phi Beta Kappa
Kristen Addis
Bonnie Allen
Abigail Anderson
Jonathan DeBusk
Rachel Doboney
Belinda Durbin
Catherine England
Jennifer Ferguson
Sarah Gowan
Brian Greene
David Harmon
Alexander “Trevor” Hray III
Benjamin “Ben” Ingram
Karen Kaczorowski
Jessica Kohout
Charles “Chuck” Lewis
Dustin Major
Thomas Pierce
Caroline “Carrie” Schultz
John “Chris” Shipman
Cassandra Skinner
Hilary Smith
Martin Smith
Jeffrey “Jeff” Taylor
Stacie Truitt
Erin Welch
Joshua Whitley

John Lane
Spartanburg, S.C., an English professor at Wofford and a 1977 graduate of the college, was inducted as an alumnus.