Students studying outside the library

New Trustees Elected for Wofford College

June 14, 2002

SPARTANBURG, SC—Four new members recently were elected to the Wofford College board of trustees, and new officers have been elected.

The new trustees are Paula Black Baker of Spartanburg; Dr. Michael D. Canty of Ashland, Ky.; W. Carlisle Hamrick of Gaffney, S.C.; and Hugh C. Lane Jr. of Charleston, S.C.

The new officers elected during the May board of trustees meeting were Minor M. Shaw, chair; Thomas C. Brittain (Class of 1975), vice chair; and Bernard E. Brooks, secretary. Shaw replaces Russell King (Class of 1956) as chair; King will remain on the board.

The new trustees were elected by the South Carolina Conference of the United Methodist Church at its annual meeting in Orangeburg in May. Wofford College has 27 trustees who serve as the governing body of the college under the terms of the will of the Rev. Benjamin Wofford and a state charter of 1851. They are elected to staggered four-year terms by the S.C. Conference. Tenure is limited to 12 consecutive years.

Mrs. Baker is a community volunteer and a lifelong Spartanburg resident. Most recently, she has been a trustee at Spartanburg Methodist College and is a former chairman of that board. She was a charter member of Wofford’s President’s Advisory Committee. Mrs. Baker is a former president of the Spartanburg Arts Council and a former director of the Carolina Piedmont Foundation. Mrs. Baker’s father, Paul Black, and her grandfather, Hugh Ratchford Black, attended Wofford, as have many members of her family. She attended Mount Vernon College, the University of Georgia and Converse College.

Canty, a native of Sumter, is a 1977 summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Wofford and a 1981 graduate of the Medical University of South Carolina. He is a practicing gastroenterologist in Ashland. He was a Navy Professions Scholar while at MUSC, where he graduated with honors.

Hamrick, president of Hamrick Mills Inc., is a 1975 Wofford graduate. His board memberships have included the American Textile Manufacturing Institute, the Institute of Textile Technology, Textile Hall, Kent Manufacturing Co., and the Palmetto Council Boy Scouts of America. He is an active layperson at Buford Street United Methodist Church in Gaffney.

Lane is CEO of the Bank of South Carolina, based in Charleston. He is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania. He is a charter member of Wofford’s President’s Advisory Board. He has been active in a number of organizations, including the Charleston Museum, the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the Belle Baruch Foundation, Ashley Hall School and South Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities.

The four new trustees replace outgoing trustees Jerry A. Cogan Jr., Milton Kimpson, William P. Phillips (Class of 1955) and Toccoa W. Switzer.