Students studying outside the library

Wofford College holds Spring Honors Day

May 4, 2004

SPARTANBURG, S.C. — Wofford College held its annual Spring Honors Day, recognizing graduating seniors and other students with departmental awards and other special recognitions.

Thomas Adam Pierce, a Wofford College rising senior from Spartanburg, S.C., was named the 20th Presidential International Scholar, the college’s unique scholarship that sends one student to developing countries for an academic year.

These other honors were presented at the convocation:

Academic Departmental Awards:
Accounting (Harold W. Green Award) – Julie Fishman
Art History – Lisa Marie Ackerman
Biology (R.A. Patterson Award) – Alan Henderson and Geoffrey Thomas
Chemistry (C.B. Waller Award) – Evelyn King
Computer Science – Michael Baker
Economics (Matthew A. Stephenson Award) – Dawna Quick
English (L. Harris Chewning Award) – Jennifer Lowe
Finance – John Hackney
French (George C.S. Adams Award) – Blair Hendricks
Spanish (John L. Salmon Award) – LeAnne Rawls
Government – Matt Howsare
History (David Duncan Wallace Award) – Robert Tibbets
Mathematics (John Q. Hill Award) – Evelyn King
Philosophy – J.R. McNair
Physics – Kate Schallhorn
Psychology (James E. Seegars Award) – Jeff Labban
Religion (Charles F. Nesbitt Award) – Shawan Gillians
Sociology – Carli Wilcox
George A. Carlisle Award (music) – Caroline Brewer
W. Norman Cochran Award (writing) – Lauren Dempsey
Walter E. Hudgins Award – Jeff Ashworth

Leadership, Service and Citizenship Awards and Recognitions:
Campus Union Staff Member of the Year – Heather Morrow (student activities and Greek life)
Campus Union Faculty Member of the Year – Dr. Ellen Goldey (biology)
Senior Order of the Gnomes – Steven Blanton, Beth Byars, Mary Egbuniwe
John Bruce Memorial Award (Bonner Scholar) – Mary Egbuniwe
Henry Freeman Service Award – Tanaya Latigue
Currie B. Spivey Award – Mark Line (athletics)
American Legion Award – Shawan Gillians, J.R. McNair
Outstanding Citizen Award – Steven Blanton
William James McLeod Award – Grant Close
Arthur B. and Ida Marie S. Rivers Award – Shannon Ardaiolo

“Heart of the Terrier” Leadership Awards:
Steven Blanton
Lisa Marie Ackerman
Shannon Ardaiolo
Jeff Ashworth
John Bagwell
Denna Bateh
Beth Byars
Fred Byers
Grant Close
Virginia Clyburn
Lauren Dempsey
Hugh DuBose
Mary Egbuniwe
Shawan Gillians
Matt Howsare
Jeff Labban
Tanaya Latigue
Danielle Makupson
J.R. McNair
Dawna Quick
Josh Raffini
Liz Rhem
Katie Sellars
Robert Tibbetts

Blue Key National Honor Society:
Lisa Marie Ackerman
Kristen Addis
Shannon Ardaiolo
Krystal Badendick
Beth Byars
Rebecca Chapman
Blake Cleveland
Grant Close
Shane Fast
Matthew Ferguson
Shawan Gillians
John Hackney
Paul Mazei
Wendy Rohr
Jennifer Rook
Robert Scott
Katie Sellars
Geoffrey Thomas
Robert Tibbetts
Nicholas Wallace