Dr. Hill and students

Wofford Receives $72,000 Whitehead Foundation Grant

February 12, 2003

SPARTANBURG, SC—Wofford College has received a $72,000 grant from the Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation Inc. to be used for general scholarships for the 2003-04 academic year.

The Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation, headquartered in Atlanta, is dedicated to the support of needy women in nine Southeastern states. The grants program of the Foundation is limited to scholarship awards to schools and colleges for deserving female students and operating grants to a small number of selected institutions serving the needs of elderly women.

“Lettie Pate Whitehead Evans was an extraordinary woman – a dynamic, successful business and civic leader in an era when opportunities for women were far more limited than they are today,” says Dr. Benjamin B. Dunlap, president of Wofford College. “We’re honored to offer scholarships in her name, and grateful that Wofford women have both her generosity and her personal example to inspire them.”

She was the wife of Joseph Brown Whitehead, who along with an associate convinced The Coca-Cola Co. to bottle the fountain drink and sell it throughout the United States. As the business prospered, the Whiteheads became business, church and civic leaders in Atlanta.

On the death of her husband in 1906, Mrs. Whitehead oversaw the expansion of the Coca-Cola bottling business and the family’s real estate investments. She also was one of the first women to serve on the board of directors of a major American corporation, serving as director of The Coca-Cola Co. for almost 20 years beginning in 1934. After her husband’s death, she married Col. Arthur Kelly Evans, a retired Canadian army officer.

Her youngest son, Conkey Pate Whitehead, influenced by his parents’ example, provided in his will for the creation of the Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation as a memorial to his mother. It was chartered in 1946 for “the aid and benefit of poor and needy Christian girls and women” in nine specific states – South Carolina, North Carolina, Georgia, Virginia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Tennessee and Florida.