Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Wofford College to present strings, piano recital Nov. 15

November 9, 2004

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Wofford College’s department of music will present a recital on Monday, Nov. 15, featuring the Wofford Chamber Players strings ensemble, and director Dr. Eun-Sun Lee and pianist W. Gary McCraw.

The 7 p.m. concert in Leonard Auditorium in the college’s Main Building is free and open to the public.

The performance will feature the Wofford Chamber Players, assisted by Peter Moore, as well as Lee on violin and McCraw on piano. It will include works by Stravinsky, Bach, Kreisler and Mozart.

Lee, who began her violin studies in Seoul, Korea, and continued in Los Angeles, came to Wofford College this fall as a lecturer in music and director of the Wofford Chamber Players. She received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in violin performance from The Juilliard School in New York City. She received her doctor of musical arts degree from the University of Southern California. Her solo and chamber music recitals throughout the United States include performances in New York City for the Beethoven Music Society, the Metropolitan Museum, Carnegie Hall, Kaufman Concert Hall at the 92nd Street Y, Lincoln Center, the Centennial Celebration Series of the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, and at the Aspen Music Festival in Colorado. She was recognized in the 2004 edition of “Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers.” She is on the S.C. Arts Commission Community Tour and Approved Artist Roster, and has released a CD with her violin/piano duo partner, Fabio Parrini.

McCraw is assistant professor and director of music at Wofford. He teaches music appreciation; directs the Concert Band, Wofford Singers, Men’s Glee Club, the a cappella group Wofford Men; and accompanies the Women’s Choir on the piano and organ. He has a master of music degree in piano performance from the University of South Carolina and is a member of Mu Beta Psi Music Fraternity, Phi Beta Lambda Music Honorary Fraternity and Alpha Psi Omega Honorary Theatre Fraternity. He also is director of music ministry at Westminster Presbyterian Church in Spartanburg.

The Chamber Players includes Amanda McMillan, Mary Beth Jordan, Ivy Farr, Jack Richardson, Jessica McGarity, Leandra Parris, Peter Moore, Jonathan Hyslop, Melia Brannon, Nathaniel Coburn, Saiward Whitener, Heath Shivers and Thomas Kay.