Students studying outside the library

Wofford College celebrating impact on judiciary Sept. 24-25

September 15, 2004

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Wofford College will celebrate its impact on the judiciary – producing attorneys and judges – with “Wofford and the Law,” a continuing legal education seminar set for Sept. 24-25 at the college. The program is open to any practicing attorney.

“Wofford has a proud heritage of producing the leading legal practitioners and jurists of our state and region in numbers highly disproportionate to our size,” says David Beacham, vice president for administration and secretary to the board of trustees. “We look forward to a gathering in Spartanburg of these outstanding men and women, and we hope through this project to build and enhance our reputation as a producer of persons entering the law.”

Wofford’s Chairman of the Board of Trustees Tommy Brittain and board member John White have been instrumental in the organization of this event, following a successful CLE seminar in the fall of 2001.

Panel leaders for the two-day program include Chief Judge William Wilkins of the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals; Chief Justice of the S.C. Supreme Court Jean Toal; Judge Henry Floyd, Federal District Court; Judge George Kosko, Federal Magistrate Court; Judge J. Mark Hayes II, S.C. Circuit Court; Judge Roger Henderson, S.C. Family Court; and Chief Judge Kaye Hearn of the S.C. Court of Appeals.

Panelists include: S.C. Supreme Court – Justice John Waller (Wofford Class of 1959), Justice E.C. Burnett III (1964) and Justice Costa Pleicones (1965). U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals – Judge Clyde Hamilton (1956), Judge Dennis Shedd (1975), and Judge Karen Williams. S.C. Court of Appeals – Judge Bruce Williams (1978). Federal District Court Judges – Henry Herlong, Margaret Seymour and Terry Wooten. Federal Magistrate – Brucie Hendricks. S.C. Circuit Court Judges – James Brogdon Jr., William Keesley, Roger Couch, and D. Garrison Hill. S.C. Family Court of Judges – Marion Myers, R. Wright Turbeville, Alvin Johnson, Haskell Abbott III and Joseph W. McGown III.

Panels also will be led members of the S.C. House of Representatives, members of the S.C. Senate, S.C. Attorney General Henry McMaster, Assistant U.S. Attorney Kevin McDonald, and other special guests.

Cost for the seminar is $335 per person and includes breakfast and lunch on Friday and Saturday for attendees and their spouses.

Of Wofford’s 14,340 living alumni, nearly 700 are attorneys or judges, many holding high positions in the South Carolina judiciary ranks.

Three of the five justices of the South Carolina Supreme Court, two judges of the U.S. Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals, and a Federal District Court judge are Wofford graduates.

Two Wofford alumni have served as Chief Justice of the South Carolina Supreme Court: C. Bruce Littlejohn (Class of 1934) and the late John G. Stabler (Class of 1905). Now deceased federal judges Charles Albert Woods (1872) and John Lyles Glenn (1910) graduated from Wofford.

Wofford has provided undergraduate education to a U.S. attorney, a member of the S.C. Court of Appeals, six other S.C. Circuit Court judges, and five Family Court judges.

The Honorable T. Travis Medlock (1956) served three terms as S.C. Attorney General.

Ken Anthony (1975), a Spartanburg attorney, is immediate past president of the S.C. Bar.

To register for “Wofford and the Law,” contact David Beacham at (864) 597-4206 or by email at or Teresa Reid at (864) 585-5100, extension 100.

Registration is still open, and any practicing attorney is welcome. Limited space is still available.