Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Wofford College celebrates 150 years

August 19, 2004

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – In honor of the 150th anniversary of Wofford College, the Spartanburg County Regional Museum of History will present a special exhibit from Aug. 24 through Oct. 30.

Wofford College opened its doors to students on Aug. 1, 1854, and has played an important role in higher education in Spartanburg ever since. Wofford is one of fewer than 200 existing American colleges that was founded before the Civil War and is still in its original location. The Main Building and four original faculty houses make up the Wofford College Historic District that is on the National Register of Historic Places. It also boasts the new state-of-the-art Roger Milliken Science Center.

Wofford has been recognized nationally as one of the best small colleges in the nation. Last year, the Wofford football team won the Southern Conference championship.

The special exhibit will include pictures and artifacts of the campus, students and faculty, athletics and more. Over the 150-year history, many changes have occurred. Perhaps the most notable are the changes in the appearance of the campus, designated as a national arboretum, and the students.

The Regional Museum’s ornament this year is the Main Building at Wofford. This building was dedicated in 1851 and opened circa 1854. Tina Steenerson created this unique ornament. It will go on sale the day the exhibit opens and will cost $20.

The Spartanburg County Regional Museum of History is located at 100 East Main Street, in the old Belk Building near the intersection of Church Street. The Regional Museum’s hours are Tuesday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission is $2 for adults and $1 for students. Children under 5 years of age are free.

For more information or to schedule a group tour, call the Museum at (864) 596-3501.

The Spartanburg County Historical Association is supported in part by the Arts Partnership of Greater Spartanburg and other private donors, the South Carolina Arts Commission, the National Endowment of the Arts, and the City and County of Spartanburg.