Students studying outside the library

Wofford College confers 270 degrees during Commencement

May 16, 2004

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Wofford College announced the creation of the Roger Milliken Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Science, a unique recognition for outstanding faculty, and presented it to biology professor Dr. Ellen Goldey during the 150th Commencement Exercises held Sunday, May 16, 2004.

The college also conferred two honorary degrees, presented the prestigious Sullivan Awards, and awarded diplomas to about 270 graduates during ceremonies on the lawn of Main Building in the center of campus.

Roger Milliken Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Science
The first recipient of the Roger Milliken Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Science award was Dr. Ellen Goldey, associate professor of biology.

The award, funded by a $1 million endowment, provides a $50,000 prize – an annual award of $5,000 for up to 10 years – for use in pursuing professional development. The recipient must remain on the Wofford faculty to continue receiving the annual disbursement. Read more…

Sullivan Awards
Two Spartanburg community leaders and two Wofford College students were presented the Mary Mildred Sullivan and Algernon Sydney Sullivan awards during the college’s commencement on Sunday, May 16.

Wofford College is one of about 50 colleges and universities, most of them in the South, authorized to present the Algernon Sydney Sullivan and Mary Mildred Sullivan Awards. The recipients, a graduating senior and a non-student, are named and the awards presented annually during spring commencement ceremonies.

Dr. Sheila S. Breitweiser, president of the South Carolina School for the Deaf and the Blind, and Dr. Clay H. Turner, rector of the Episcopal Church of the Advent, received the non-student awards, while graduating seniors Elizabeth A. (Beth) Byars of Columbia, S.C., and Robert E. Tibbetts of Leesville, S.C., also were recognized. Read more…

Honor Graduate (Highest GPA)
Robert E. Tibbetts also was named the Class of 2004 Honor Graduate, which goes to the student with the highest cumulative grade point ratio (GPA).

Honorary Doctoral Degrees
Honorary doctoral degrees were conferred upon Dr. Donald L. Fowler, chairman of Fowler Communications Inc. in Columbia, S.C., and former chairman of the Democratic National Committee and Sara Starnes Shingler, former president of the women’s division of the General Board of Global Ministries for the United Methodist Church and national president of the United Methodist Women. Read more…

Faculty Retirement
Dr. Richard Robinson
, Wofford Class of 1961, was recognized as the McCalla Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus. He retired after faculty service from 1966 through 2004.