Students studying outside the library

Wofford College Announces Appointments, Promotions

September 5, 2003

SPARTANBURG, SC – Wofford College has announced these faculty and staff appointments and promotions for the 2003-04 academic year (as of Sept. 1, 2003):

Faculty Promotions
Caroline A. Cunningham, named chair, foreign languages department
Lee O. Hagglund, named chair, mathematics department
Peter L. Schmunk, named chair, fine arts department
George W. Shiflet Jr., named Dr. & Mrs. Larry Hearn McCalla Professor of Biology
Ted R. Monroe, promoted to professor, mathematics department
Robert E. Moss, promoted to professor, biology department
Cecile B. McAninch, promoted to associate professor, psychology department
Carol B. Wilson ’81, promoted to associate professor, English department

Faculty Appointments
James V. Davis, professor and chair, military science department
Byron R. McCane, professor and chair, religion department
Ron R. Robinson ’78, Perkins-Prothro Chaplain and Professor of Religion
Deborah A. Gideon, associate professor, psychology department
Mark A. Ferguson ’94, assistant professor and coordinator of Wofford Theatre Workshop, fine arts department
Stacey R. Hettes, assistant professor, biology department
James R. Neighbors, assistant professor, English department
Janice S. Gothard, Lewis P. Jones Visiting Professor of History (fall semester)
Camille L. Bethea, instructor, foreign languages department
John N. Strange, instructor (fall semester), biology
Daniel W. Cooke, lecturer, computer science
Dexter Davison, lecturer, mathematics
Cynthia Fowler, lecturer, sociology (fall semester)
George B. Martin ’59, lecturer, humanities
Kirk H. Neely, lecturer, religion
Stephen C. Perry, lecturer, finance
David Rodrick, lecturer, fine arts
Dennis M. Wiseman, acting assistant dean of the college

Professional Staff
Jimmy B. Allen, promoted to associate head coach, men’s basketball
David M. Atchley ’88, associate vice president for development
Lisa H. Cameron ’02, assistant to vice president for administration and secretary to board of trustees
Darrin Goss ’93, director of multicultural affairs and leadership programs
Kyle M. James ’03, evening IT help center support specialist
Robert E. Knott, director of residence life
Boyce M. Lawton III, promoted to assistant dean for special programs and director of information management
D. Brooks Lee, assistant coach, men’s basketball
Mark D. Line, associate athletics director for internal operations
Jennifer L. Lister ’03, admissions counselor
Len D. Mathis, director of athletics marketing and promotions
S. Lucas McMillan ’02, assistant to vice president for planning and marketing
Clinton Mickles, campus safety officer
Heather J. Morrow, director of student activities and Greek Life
Eric M. Nash ’02, assistant coach, football
P. Lyn Pace ’99, director of volunteer services and associate chaplain
Heather S. Rogers ’03, admissions intern
S. Butler Strain ’03, Gold Bar recruiter, military science department
Larrya R. Wall, assistant coach, women’s basketball
Elizabeth D. Wallace ’82, promoted to associate dean of students
Bobby Welborn, campus safety officer
April C. Williams ’02, assistant director of annual giving and alumni affairs
Travis J. Woods, assistant director of sports information
Samantha S. Young, head coach, women’s basketball