Dr. Hill and students

Students recognized at Honors Convocation

Florence student named Presidential International Scholar

WoffordBanners 382x255

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Dozens of Wofford College students were recognized for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship Tuesday, May 9, 2017, at the college's annual Honors Convocation held in Leonard Auditorium in Main Building.

President Nayef H. Samhat announced the appointment of Chinyere Victoria Nwankudu, a junior from Florence, S.C., majoring in Spanish and international affairs, as the 2017-18 Presidential International Scholar and recognized Punam Mulji, a junior from Spartanburg majoring in biology and minoring in accounting, the 2016-17 scholar.

Academic departments recognized their outstanding students and a variety of other awards were presented during the event.

These are the honors and recipients:

Presidential International Scholar – Chinyere Victoria Nwankudu, Florence, S.C.
Accounting: The Harold W. Green Award – Claire Joanne Hinshaw, Proctorville, Ohio
Art HistoryReagan Elizabeth Petty, Franklin, Tenn.
Biology: The W. Ray Leonard Award – Devon Victoria Wasche, Florence, S.C., and Michael Lee Cato, Boiling Springs, S.C.
Business Economics – Sarah Jean Sarb, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
Chemistry: The Coleman B. Waller Award – Matthew Michael Howell, Boiling Springs, S.C., and David Thomas Marvin, Charlotte, N.C.
ChineseHelen Elizabeth Lamm, Florence, S.C., and Helen Lawton Birdsong, Columbia, S.C.

Computer Science: The Dan W. Olds Award – Daniel Stephen Couch, Columbia, S.C.
Economics: The Matthew A. Stephenson Award – Hunter Lawrence Windham, Aynor, S.C.
English: The L. Harris Chewning Award – Geoffrey Owen Darrow, Tega Kay, S.C.; Katherine Elizabeth Howell, Greenville, S.C.; and Madeline Tanner Kaplan, Dunwoody, Ga.
Environmental Studies: The John W. Harrington Award – Carol Jisnely Morel, Fort Mill, S.C.
Finance: The James Edwin Proctor Award – James Richard Fields, Lexington, S.C.
French: The George C.S. Adams Award – Madeline Tanner Kaplan, Dunwoody, Ga.
German: The James A. Chiles Award – Clara Elaine Simons, Lexington, S.C.
GovernmentKatherine Elizabeth Howell, Greenville, S.C.; Burnet Rhett Maybank, Columbia, S.C.
History: The David Duncan Wallace Award – Danielle Justine Scott, Inman, S.C.
HumanitiesFaith Belle Lifer, Hilton Head, S.C.
International Affairs – Sarah Mackenzie Traynor, Ontario, Canada
Mathematics: The John Q. Hill Mathematics Award – Amanda Suzanne Mason, Lake City, Pa.
PhilosophyJames Whipple Heard, Germantown, Tenn., and Garrett Franklin Heath, Gastonia, N.C.
PhysicsClaire Elaine Simons, Lexington, S.C.
Psychology: The James E. Seegars Psychology Award – Rebecca Evans McGregor, Rock Hill, S.C.
Religion: The Charles F. Nesbitt Award – Jessica Nena Meggs, Greenville, S.C.
Sociology and AnthropologyDanielle Justine Scott, Inman, S.C., and Katlyn Danielle West, Apex, N.C.
Spanish: The John L. Salmon Award – Jamey Kevin Bower, Port Orange, Fla., and Lauren Victoria Crawford, Lebanon, N.J.
Theatre: The James R. Gross Award – Laura Margaret Thurston, Travelers Rest, S.C.
The George A. Carlisle Award (Music Department) – Robert Christopher Chase, Charlotte, N.C.
The W. Norman Cochran Award – Susan Michele Heiser, Pelzer, S.C., and Katherine Elizabeth Howell, Greenville, S.C.
The Peter Allen Moore Award for Strings – Saleha Salehani, Moore, S.C.
The Global Citizen Award – William Douglas Etheridge, Charlotte, N.C.
The Walter E. Hudgins Award – Caleb Andrew Pierce, Bothell, Wash.
The Senior Order of Gnomes – Kathleen Joanna Benedict, Greenville, S.C.; Robert Christopher Chase, Charlotte, N.C.; James Patrick Longest, Raleigh, N.C.; Stephen Rodney McCants, Andrews, S.C.;and the late Jeremiah Tate (Columbia, S.C.)
Wofford Student Diversity and Inclusion Award - Meghan Anne Curran, Florence, S.C.
The John Bruce Memorial Award – Emily Alessandra Batista, Greensboro, N.C., and Breanne Nicole Lillie, Charlotte, N.C.
The Henry Freeman Service Award – Saleha Salehani, Moore, S.C. 
The “Heart of the Terrier” Leadership Awards – Lillian Gower Fant, Greenville, S.C.; Helen Elizabeth Lamm, Florence, S.C.; Rebecca Evans McGregor, Rock Hill, S.C.; Virginia Lee Anne McCully, Orangeburg, S.C.; Mary Kerr McDonald, Burlington, N.C.; Thomas Boyd Richardson, Florence, S.C.; Ashlyn Rae Roberts, Mount Pleasant, S.C.; Roderick Murchison Todd, Camden, S.C.; Sarah Mackenzie Traynor, Ontario, Canada;
The American Legion Award – Victoria Marie Biggers, Clover, S.C., and Christopher Mark Paschal, Charlotte, N.C.
The Eric Marshall Award – Aaliyah Nicole Keels, Blythewood, S.C.
The Outstanding Citizen Award – James Patrick Longest, Raleigh, N.C.
The William James McLeod Award – Stephen Rodney McCants, Andrews, S.C.
The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award – Mary Hurston Zuelke, Tuscumbia, Ala.
Benjamin Wofford Prize - Sarah Catherine Madden, Winston-Salem, N.C. 

Faculty and Staff Recognitions:
The Currie B. Spivey Award – Dr. Dave Pittman, professor of psychology
Campus Union Faculty Award – Dr. Carol Wilson, professor of English and coordinator of academic advising
Campus Union Staff Awards – Paul Jones, circulation coordinator, Sandor Teszler Library
Wofford Faculty/Staff Diversity and Inclusion Award – Phil Dorroll, assistant professor of religion