Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Students recognized for academic excellence, leadership, citizenship

Spartanburg student named Presidential International Scholar

Honors Day 382x255

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Dozens of Wofford College students were recognized for academic excellence, leadership and citizenship today (Tuesday, May 3, 2016) at the college's annual Honors Convocation held in Leonard Auditorium in Main Building.

President Nayef H. Samhat announced the appointment of Punam Jittin Mulji, a junior majoring in biology and minoring in accounting from Spartanburg, S.C., as the 2016-17 Presidential International Scholar and recognized C. Phifer Nicholson, a junior majoring in religion and minoring in business from Plymouth, Minn., as the 2015-16 Presidential International Scholar. (Read about Punam Mulji's appointment.)

Academic departments recognized their outstanding students and a variety of other recognitions were made during the event.

These are the honors and recipients:

Presidential International Scholar – Punam Jittin Mulji, Spartanburg, S.C.
Accounting: The Harold W. Green Award – Martha Nayfa, Spartanburg, S.C.
Art HistoryCaroline J. Winn, Carlisle, Pa.
Biology: The W. Ray Leonard Award – Matt Howell, Boiling Springs, S.C.
Business Economics – Caroline J. Winn, Carlisle, Pa.
Chemistry: The Coleman B. Waller Award – Shawna M. Blankenship, Chapin, S.C.
ChineseDillan Trojan, Drayton, S.C., and WestLee Parker, Boiling Springs, S.C.

Computer Science: The Dan W. Olds Award – Frank Lykes Claytor, Columbia, S.C.
Economics: The Matthew A. Stephenson Award – Zachary B. Morrow, Lancaster, S.C., and William C. Moody, Lexington, S.C.
English: The L. Harris Chewning Award – Andrew James Levin, Mount Pleasant, S.C.; Joseph Christian Taylor Alexander, Timmonsville, S.C.; Anna Marie Pierce Aguillard, Baton Rouge, La.; and Addie Elise Lawrence, Duluth, Ga. 
Environmental Studies: The John W. Harrington Award – Karen Gravely, Pickens, S.C.
Finance: The James Edwin Proctor Award – Alex Kelly, Akron, N.Y.
French: The George C.S. Adams Award – Joseph Christian Taylor Alexander, Timmonsville, S.C., and Shiman "Louise" Lu, Shenyang, China
German: The James A. Chiles Award – Ashlyn Keightley, Goodlettsville, Tenn.
GovernmentWilliam Cole Shannon, Charleston, S.C., and William Edward Wolfe, Chapin, S.C.
History: The David Duncan Wallace Award – Emiley Pagrabs, Wilmington, N.C.
HumanitiesLauren Cabe, Atlanta, Ga.
Mathematics: The John Q. Hill Mathematics Award – Zachary B. Morrow, Lancaster, S.C.
Military Science  – Cadet WestLee Parker, Boiling Springs, S.C.
PhilosophyAddie Elise Lawrence, Duluth, Ga.
PhysicsHayden Breckenridge, Gaffney, S.C.
Psychology: The James E. Seegars Psychology Award – Sara Elizabeth Futch, Lawrenceville, Ga.
Religion: The Charles F. Nesbitt Award – C. Phifer Nicholson, Plymouth, Minn.
SociologyMariah Fuller, St. Paul, Minn.
Spanish: The John L. Salmon Award – Leannna Herbert, Columbia, S.C.; and Colton Smith, Williamston, S.C.
Theatre: The James R. Gross Award – Madison Diane Eberhardt, Watkinsville, Ga.
The George A. Carlisle Award (Music Department) – Katherine Buchanan, Greenville, S.C.
The W. Norman Cochran Award – Addie Elise Lawrence, Duluth, Ga.
The Peter Allen Moore Award for Strings – Marcus Ellison, Moncks Corner, S.C.
The Global Citizen Award – Shiman "Louise" Lu, Shenyang, China
The Walter E. Hudgins Award – Riddick Blocker IV, Charlotte, N.C.
The Senior Order of Gnomes – Carlyn Fralick, Lexington, S.C.; Billy Moody, Lexington, S.C.; and C. Phifer Nicholson, Plymouth, Minn.
The John Bruce Memorial Award – Mashyaka Yves Engelmann
The Henry Freeman Service Award – Catherine Eve Tisdale, Spartanburg, S.C. 
The “Heart of the Terrier” Leadership Awards – Isaiah Addison Jr., Hartsville, S.C.; Anna Marie Pierce Aguillard, Baton Rouge, La.; William Daniel Altman, Lexington, S.C.; Rebecca Katherine Buchanan, Greenville, S.C.; Ryan Alexander Carter, Charlotte, N.C.; Robert Alexander Massey III, Kershaw, S.C.; Zachary Benjamin Morrow, Lancaster, S.C.; Dhruvkumar Prakashkumar Patel, Conway, S.C.; Matthew Tyler Ratterree, Easley, S.C.; Alexander Ebner Vary, Greensboro, N.C.; and William "Jay" Edward Wolfe Jr., Chapin, S.C.
The American Legion Award – Matthew Hayden Breckenridge, Gaffney, S.C.; Caroline Jean Winn, Carlisle, Pa.; and Lindsay Anne Uhlinger, Scottsdale, Ariz.
The Eric Marshall Award – Jonathan Alvin Franklin, Columbia, S.C.
The Outstanding Citizen Award – Marianna Elizabeth Conrad, Spartanburg, S.C.
The William James McLeod Award – Donovan Jordan Hicks, Spartanburg, S.C.
The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award – McKensie Jordan Rogers, Murrells Inlet, S.C.

Faculty and Staff Recognitions:
The Currie B. Spivey Award – Dr. Beate U. Brunow, assistant professor of Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures, and Dr. M. Begona Caballero-Garcia, associate professor of Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures
Campus Union Faculty Award – Dr. Charles G. Bass, Dr. and Mrs. Larry Hearn McCalla Professor of Chemistry
Campus Union Staff Awards – Dean Elizabeth Wallace, director of the Wellness Center and associate vice president for student affair, and Petr I. Belousove, housekeeper