Professor giving a lecture to students in old main

Two elected to Wofford College Board of Trustees

Seven re-elected to new terms

Justin Converse and Stewart Johnson 382x255
Justin Converse, left, and Stewart Johnson were elected to four-year terms on the Wofford Board of Trustees.

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Two new members have been elected to the Wofford College Board of Trustees while seven others have been re-elected to four-year terms. The appointments were made at the Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church of South Carolina held in Florence, S.C., in June.

The new trustees, elected to four-year terms, are Justin A. Converse, Wofford Class of 1996, and Stewart H. Johnson, Class of 1967, both of Spartanburg. They fill the seats that were held by R. Michael James, Class of 1973, whose term has expired after three consecutive four-year stints, and Frederick D. Gibbs, Class of 1987, who resigned from the board several months ago. 

Re-elected to new terms were: the Rev. B. Mike Alexander, Class of 1973; Dr. James E. Bostic; J. Harold Chandler, Class of 1971; Jimmy I. Gibbs; Laura J. Hoy; L. Leon Patterson, Class of 1963; and J. Edwin Reeves Jr. 

At the May meeting of the board of trustees, these officers were elected for the 2012-13 year: Chandler, chair; James M. Johnson, Class of 1971, vice chair; C. Michael Smith, Class of 1975, vice chair and secretary; and John B. White Jr., Class of 1972, vice chair. 

Justin Converse is chairman and CEO of Converse & Co. Inc.-Converse Resource Group. He has served on the Wofford President’s Advisory Board and is involved with the Terrier Club. He is a trustee for Spartanburg Day School and a former trustee at Spartanburg Methodist College. He is a member of the Young President’s Organization’s Southern Seven and serves as a director for the South Carolina Golf Association. He is married to Anna Habisreutinger Converse, a 1995 Wofford graduate whose father, Roger, served on the Wofford Board from 1978 to 1990. They have two children, Marianna, age 9, and Hugh, age 7.

Stewart Johnson is chairman of the board of Morgan Corp. He and his wife, Ann Cobb Johnson, have been a longtime Wofford supporters, sponsoring the Terrier Ball for the past 13 years and providing scholarship and endowed professorship funding; they also recently donated trees for plantings around the Wofford football parking area. He is a member of Episcopal Church of the Advent, where he serves on the Vestry. Mrs. Johnson is a former member of the Wofford Board of Trustees. The Johnsons have four grown children, Stewart Heath Johnson Jr.; David Greenewald Johnson, Class of 1998; Jamie Johnson Boyd, Class of 2000; and Ann Johnson Hopkins, Class of 2004.