Dr. Hill and students

Presidential Search Committee begins its work

Wofford’s President Dunlap to retire in June 2013

Dunlap 382x255
President Benjamin B. Dunlap has announced his retirement effective June 30, 2013.

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Wofford College has named its Presidential Search Committee, and the group has begun its work to find the successor for Dr. Benjamin B. Dunlap, who announced his retirement effective at the end of June 2013.

Dunlap, only the 10th president of the college, will retain his appointment as the Chapman Family Professor in the Humanities, and after a yearlong sabbatical, will return to teaching at Wofford.

R. Michael James, a 1973 graduate and former trustee, is the chair of the Presidential Search Committee. He is a founding partner of WEDGE Capital Management in Charlotte, N.C.

The Wofford Board of Trustees has approved the appointments of James and these other search committee members:

The Rev. Dr. B. Mike Alexander Jr., a 1973 Wofford graduate and a member of the Wofford Board of Trustees. He is a minister at Belin United Methodist Church in Murrells Inlet, S.C.

Charles J. Bradshaw Sr., a 1959 graduate and a retired business executive from Spartanburg; Linville, N.C.; and Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

Dr. Ellen S. Goldey, the William R. Kenan Professor of Biology and chair of the Department of Biology at Wofford

Laura Jackson Hoy of Myrtle Beach, S.C., a Wofford trustee

Dr. Joab M. Lesesne Jr., president emeritus of Wofford College

Ronald L. Norman, a member of the Class of 2013 and president of Wofford’s Campus Union student government organization

Corry W. Oakes III, a 1989 graduate and a trustee. He is a partner in OTO Development LLC of Spartanburg.

Stanley E. Porter, a 1989 graduate and a trustee. He is a managing director with Deloitte Consulting LLP in Chevy Chase, Md.

The Rev. Dr. Ronald R. Robinson, the Perkins Prothro Chaplain and Professor of Religion at Wofford

Edward B. Wile, a 1973 graduate and a trustee. He is senior vice president for UBS Financial Services in Atlanta.

Dr. Dennis M. Wiseman, the Reeves Family Professor of Foreign Languages and dean of Center for Innovation and Learning at Wofford

Serving as an ex officio member of the committee is J. Harold Chandler of Kiawah Island, S.C., a 1971 graduate and chairman of the Wofford Board of Trustees.

“The Wofford College Board of Trustees affirmed the 12-member Presidential Search Committee on Aug. 24 and the committee began its formal work on Aug. 28,” Chandler says. “As we have often said, replacing Bernie Dunlap is a huge undertaking. However, our diversified group composed of trustees, faculty, a student representative, and alumni and community leaders has tackled the assignment with excitement, high energy and positive anticipation. Mike James, a 1973 graduate, distinguished former trustee and a 2012 recipient of an honorary degree from Wofford, has been elected chairperson of the committee. Mike is an inspiring personality and profoundly loves Wofford. He and I, the committee and, ultimately, the entire board of trustees will work diligently on this historic search – only the 11th in the 158 years of Wofford College.”