Faculty helping out student

Wofford History

This page features a collection of biographical and historical sketches about Wofford people and events.


Wofford's Presidents

Wofford's Deans and Faculty

Biographies of Selected Faculty Members


 A Wofford Chronology

College Awards

Honorary Degree Recipients
Sandor Teszler Award Recipients

Student Leadership Awards

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award  
The American Legion Award
The Arthur B. and Ida Maie S. Rivers Award 
The Currie B. Spivey Award
The Henry Freeman Award for Distinguished Service
The John Bruce Memorial Award
The Mary Mildred Sullivan Award
The Outstanding Citizen Award
The William J. McLeod Award

Student Academic Awards

The Honor Graduate
Benjamin Wofford Prize Winners
The Presidential International Scholar
The Walter E. Hudgins Award 
George A. Carlisle Award in Music

Accounting Major-Harold W. Green Award
Art History Major Award
Biology Major-W. Ray Leonard Award
Chemistry Major-Coleman B. Waller Award
Chinese Major Award
Computer Science Major Award
Economics Major-Matthew A. Stephenson Award
English Major-L. Harris Chewning Award
Environmental Studies-John W. Harrington Award
Finance Major Award
French Major-George C. S. Adams Award
German Major-James A. Chiles Award
Government Major Award
History Major-David Duncan Wallace Award
Humanities Major Award
Intercultural Studies Major Award
Intercultural Studies for Business Major Award
Mathematics Major-John Q. Hill Award
Philosophy Major Award
Political Economy and Philosophy Major Award
Physics Major Award
Psychology Major-James E. Seegars Award
Religion Major-Charles F. Nesbitt Award
Sociology Major Award
Spanish Major-John L. Salmon Award
Theatre Major-James R. Gross Award

Student Leaders

Student Body Presidents
The Senior Order of Gnomes

Alumni Association Awards

The National Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
The National Alumni Association Distinguished Citizen Award
The Young Alumnus or Alumna of the Year

Faculty Awards

The Philip Covington Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Humanities and Social Sciences
The Roger Milliken Award for the Excellence in the Teaching of Science
Excellence in Teaching Awards - SC Independent Colleges and Universities

Athletics Awards

The Charles J. Bradshaw Award
The Distinguished Service Award
Honorary Lettermen
The William Stanley Hoole Award